Article 35229 of comp.sys.newton.misc:
Path: samba.rahul.net!rahul.net!a2i!news.pbi.net!su-news-hub1.bbnplanet.com!news.bbnplanet.com!newsxfer3.itd.umich.edu!newsxfer.itd.umich.edu!colloquy.apple.com!nntp1.apple.com!peterich-bridge.apple.com!user
From: webmaster@newton.apple.com (Pete Richardson)
Newsgroups: comp.sys.newton.misc
Subject: Re: I can't backup or replace my System Update!
Date: Wed, 05 Mar 1997 09:38:58 -0800
Organization: Apple Computer, Inc.
Lines: 38
Message-ID: <webmaster-0503970938580001@peterich-bridge.apple.com>
References: <3312A403.3022@scbc.org> <5f4rsn$1ks$1@news.gamma.ru> <3316CFCB.10A9@bbn.com> <rik-2802971210220001@rik.shore.net>
NNTP-Posting-Host: peterich-bridge.apple.com

In article <rik-2802971210220001@rik.shore.net>, rik@newtuser.com (Rik
Ahlberg) wrote:

>In article <3316CFCB.10A9@bbn.com>, eshultz@bbn.com wrote:
>
>> I don't understand something here... If you remove all of the batteries
>> from the Newton and let it set for a while, why would this erase only
>> the system update and not your user data. You can bet that you will
>> loose all of your user data as well!
>
>My understanding is that the user data is in flash, so it's safe. Pete?
>(This isn't in the techinfo library.)

Hi everyone...
First, a warning:  Always back up your data before messing with your
System Update or pulling the batteries.  It would be a shame to lose your
data because of an incorrect post (or a misunderstanding of what you read)
on the internet.

Having said that,  Rik is right.  On the MP120 and MP130, the user data
resides in flash, so removing the batteries shouldn't wipe your user
data.  The system update still resides in DRAM.  When you pull your
batteries, the system update goes away.

On the 110, 100 and earlier, everything's in DRAM, and everything goes
away when you pull your batteries.

On the 2000 and eMate, the update lives in a protected area of the flash
RAM, and won't go away no matter what you do (unless it involves a
soldering iron :-))...  The user data is in regular flash, and can still
be erased by a cold boot (reset-powerswitch-'are-you-sure-dialog'
combination).

-- Pete Richardson
Newton Systems Group

P.S.  I'll see if we can get this put in the Tech Info Library.  Thanks
for the suggestion.


