1. St. Ann's founded 1795
2. St. John's founded 1826
3. St. Paul's founded 1833
4. Trinity founded 1835
5. Christ Church founded 1837
6. Church of Our Savior founded 1860
7. Christ Church Red Hook Mission
8. St. Mary's founded 1840
9. Emmanuel Church founded 1841
10. Calvary Free Church founded 1840
11. St. Luke's Church founded 1842
12. St. Thomas's Church founded 1844
13. The Church of the Holy Trinity founded 1844
14. Grace Church founded 1847
15. Protestant Episcopal Church of the Reformation 1847
16. St. Michael's Church founded 1847
17. St. Peter's founded 1847
18. St. Paul's Church, Clinton and Carroll sts. founded 1849
19. St. Mark's Church founded 1850
20. The Church of the Messiah founded 1850
21. St. George's Church founded 1852
22. Church of the Redeemer founded 1853
23. Emmanuel Church founded 1853
24. Christ Church Mission Chapel founded 1857
25. The Free Church St. Matthew's founded 1859
26. The Church of the Reformation founded 186
27. St. Thomas (now Guion Church) founded 1868
28. St. Andrew's Church founded 1859
29. Church of the Atonement founded 1864
30. The Church of Our Savior founded 1867
31. The Church of the Evangelists founded 1867
32. Chapel of the Holy Trinity Church founded 1867
33. St. James's Church founded 1868
34. St. Stephen's Chapel founded 1869
35. All Saints Chapel founded 1867
36. Church of the Mediator founded 1869
37. St. Mark's Church, E.D. founded 1837
38. Christ Church, E.D. founded 1846
39. St. Paul's, E.D. founded 1846
40. St. James's Church, E.D. founded 1846
41. Calvary (Free) Church, E.D. founded 1849
42. Church of the Ascension, Greenpoint founded 1846
43. St. John's Church, E.D. founded 1851
44. Ascension Church, Bushwick, E.D. founded 1852
45. Grace Church, E.D. founded 1853
46. St. Barnabas Chapel, E.D. founded 1851
The Episcopal Church was the first to intrude upon the undisputed sway which that of the Reformed Dutch had maintained in the town of Brooklyn for a period of one hundred and twenty-five years. Tradition asserts that it was established here in the year 1766, but the statement is unsubstantiated by any reliable data, and it seems most probable that the first Episcopal Services held in Brooklyn, perhaps in the year mentioned, were simply occasional, conducted by some of the clergy of New York, and repeated at intervals according to circumstances or convenience. In a town, which even so late as 1800, contained but two thousand inhabitants, and most of them connected with the Dutch congregation, it is hardly to be presumed that there were a sufficient number of adherents of the Episcopal faith, before that time, to support its regular administration. In the absence of all positive evidence to the contrary, therefore, we must date the beginning of this church here to about the commencement of the Revolutionary war, and to the presence and influence of the British officers, at that time stationed in New York and its vicinity. At all events, we find in one of the newspapers of the day, March, 1774, a notice, "that the church proposed to be erected by lottery at Brooklyn, will be under the care of the Rev. B. Page, and conformable to the doctrines of the church of England." It is probable, however, that this project was unsuccessful; and although, during the war, as it was natural to expect, the British officers bad divine Services performed according to the forms of their own church, we do not know where they usually met, except that occasionally, with a commendable degree of catholicity, the Dutch people kindly allowed them the use of their church, when not occupied by their own ministers. 
During the war, or at least from May, 1778, until, or near, the time of the evacuation of the British troops, in November, 1783, the Rev. James Sayre was regularly stationed here, and preached, as thirty or more of his manuscript sermons, endorsed "Brooklyn Church," will show.
In the spring of 1784, the Rev. George Wright commenced the Episcopal service in a house, located on Fulton, a little above Front street, and belonging to Mr. Garret Rapelye. This building was pulled down on the 12th of March, of the same year, and the congregation removed to the barn of Mr. John Middagh, in the rear of his house at the corner of Henry and Fulton streets,  and subsequently to an old British barrack on the corner of Middagh and Fulton streets, which was suitably fitted up for its new uses.  In 1785, a union or partnership house of worship, was erected on the late Episcopal burying ground (now occupied by St. Ann's Building), in Fulton street, for Mr. Mattuck, an independent preacher; but several of the prominent partners in its ownership becoming disaffected with the undertaking, it passed into the hands of some of Mr. Wright's parishioners, and was consecrated, about the same time by Bishop Provost. On the 23d of April, 1787, the parish was incorporated, by act of legislature, as "The Episcopal Church of Brooklyn," and the following individuals were named as trustees, viz.: Messrs. John Cornell, Matthew Gleaves, Joshua Sands, Joseph Sealy, John Van Nostrand, Aquila Giles, and Henry Stanton.
Mr. Wright continued his ministrations here until his removal in 1789, and, was succeeded by the Rev. Elijah D. Rattoone, who continued until March, 1792, when he accepted the professorship of Greek in Columbia College, New York. The Rev. Ambrose Hull, deacon, followed Mr. Rattoone, in 1792, but remained only a few months; having inherited a large estate at the south, he removed thither, and subsequently abandoned the ministry. The next incumbent was the Rev. Samuel Nesbitt, whose connection with the church, as may be inferred from the list of baptisms, commenced in January, 1793. 
On the 22d of June, 1795, the church was reorganized and incorporated by the name of St. Ann's Church,  a title which it is. said to have 11 tacitly received some years before," in compliment to Mrs. Ann Sands, who, with her husband (Mr. Joshua Sands), had been its most liberal donor.  The building was entirely refitted, and Mr. Nesbitt was constituted rector, with a vestry composed of the following gentlemen: Wardens, John Van Nostrand, Gen. Powers; vestrymen, Joshua Sands, Paul Durell, Joseph Fox, William Carpenter, Aquila Giles, John Cornell, Gilbert Van Mater, Robert Stoddard. In 1798, the Rev. John Ireland  succeeded to the rectorship of St. Ann's, and it was during his charge that the stone church which preceded the present edifice, and the first erected on the ground given by Mr. and Mrs. Sands, was built and occupied, being consecrated by Bishop Benjamin Moore, on the 30th of May, 1805, on which occasion, also, thirty-seven persons were confirmed. In May, 1807, the Rev. Henry James Feltus became the rector of this church, and continued his ministrations "greatly to the satisfaction of his flock," until his resignation on the 15th of June, 1814, in order to accept a call to St. Stephen's church, New York.
In July, 1814, the Rev. John Prentiss Kenley Henshaw took charge of St. Ann's while yet in deacon's orders, at the early age of twenty-two years. He commenced his labors here "under the all pervading influence of a first love," and "his appeals to the heart and conscience were so direct, and his exhortations to purity and devotedness of life, seemed so reasonable and obligatory, that many were not able to resist the wisdom and the spirit by which he spake. Yet, to those who were at ease in Zion, this methodistical sort of preaching was greatly offensive, and some complained that church order was violated by the prayer and other extra meetings which were held, and especially by those in which there was any union with other denominations. Notwithstanding this partial dissatisfaction, however, the church may be said to have greatly prospered during this ministry."
He was ordained to the priesthood, and instituted rector in July, 1816, and, during the following summer (1817), resigned his charge, and removed to Baltimore.
His successor, the Rev. Hugh Smith, entered upon his labors in the parish July, 1817, "with such assiduity and devotedness as showed that no endeavors on his part would be wanting to render his ministrations acceptable ; and to a very considerable extent those endeavors were successful." Unfortunately, however, the ruffled state of feeling in the congregation which had caused his predecessor's removal, had not subsided, and he shared his predecessor's fate. "The last Sunday but one," says the historian of St. Ann's, "that Mr. Smith remained was communion. He had just received priest's orders, and was therefore, now for the first time empowered to administer that ordinance, which he did on this occasion without assistance, in accordance with his own wish. His text, from Luke, xxii, 15, was peculiarly touching and significant: I With desire, I have desired to eat this passover with you before I suffer. 'The subject of his last sermon was drawn from the 27th verse of the first chapter of Philippians: I Only let your conversation be as it becometh the gospel of Christ; that whether I come and see you, or else be absent, I may bear of your affairs, that ye stand in one spirit, with one mind striving together for the faith of the gospel." ' It may readily be conceived that the utterance of these words, under such peculiar circumstances, as well as the remarks which followed them, made a vivid and profound impression upon his auditory. A sabbath school was established in the early part of Mr. Smith's ministry. Mr. Smith was admitted to the priesthood by Bishop Hobart, on the 16th of October, 1819, and shortly after left Brooklyn, to assume the rectorship of St. Paul's church, at Augusta, Georgia.
Rev. Henry Ustick Onderdonk was instituted rector in November, 1819, and continued in the earnest and successful discharge of his duties, until his connection with the church was broken off, by his election and consecration as assistant bishop of Pennsylvania, and his removal to that diocese, in October, 1827. The church-edifice being considered unsafe for much further use, in consequence of the damages done to its walls by the powder mill explosion of 1808, measures were taken for the erection of a new building. And on the 31st of March, 1824, the corner-stone of the present edifice was duly laid,  and the church being complete, was consecrated on the 30th of July, 1825, by the Rt. Rev. John Cross, D.D., of New Jersey, acting for Bishop Hobart, then absent in Europe. The sermon was preached by the venerable Bishop White, of Pennsylvania, and the sentence of consecration read by the Rev. Mr. Whitehouse, now the bishop of Illinois. The dimensions of the church were ninety-eight feet in length, by sixty-eight in width, and thirty-four feet in height, to the eaves, and eighty to the summit of the tower. In 1826, a new parsonage was built, where Clark street now enters Fulton street, and nearly opposite to the old Episcopal burying ground. 
The sabbath school, which had commenced during Mr. Smith's ministry, after continuing for some time under Mr. Onderdonk, fell into a languishing state, and was discontinued. Subsequently, a "female Sunday school, embracing, like the preceding, children of the poor only, was commenced at the suggestion of the rector, and placed under the superintendence of Miss Mary Ann Wetmore (afterwards Mrs. Alden Spooner), and by her continued for three or more years. She was assisted by several of her week-day scholars. The school, on anniversary and other public occasions, united with that of St. Paul's church, New York."
Mr. Onderdonk was followed by the Rev. Charles Pettit McIlvaine, who resigned his position as Professor of Moral Philosophy and chaplain in the United States' Military Academy at West Point, in the fall of 1827, to take the charge of this church. "He addressed himself to his work with the earnestness and fidelity, and fearlessness of one who feels the dignity and importance of his station, and is conscious that, through Christ strengthening him, he may do all things," and his efforts were highly successful, us evidenced by "a numerous, attentive, and attached congregation, and a large and continued accession of church members."
Soon after his coming here, a Bible class was commenced, and other week day services, prayer meetings, etc., were appointed and were well attended. In May, 1828, a sabbath school was established,  mainly through his encouragement and personal cooperation, and in all ways the members of his church were stimulated in the discharge of their duty towards God, and their fellow men. In 1830, his health, which had been seriously impaired by his pastoral labors, was recruited by a visit to England; in the winter of 1831-2, he was appointed Professor of the Evidences of Revealed Religion and Sacred Antiquities, in the University of the City of New York, and delivered before the Young Men's Society for Moral Improvement, a series of lectures on the Evidences of Christianity, which have since been published, and which possess a high degree of merit. In the cholera season of 1832, he was still further endeared to his people and to the community by his indefatigable labors and influence as a Christian pastor. During the same year he was elected, and on the 31st of October, consecrated bishop of Ohio, but did not enter permanently upon its duties until June or July, 1833, remaining rector of St. Ann's until the end of April.
Great as was his loss to the affectionate flock whom he left at St. Ann's, his place was very acceptably filled by his successor, the Rev. Benjamin Clarke Cutler. He was called on the 11th of February, 1833, was instituted into the rectorship on the 21st of April, and commenced his ministry here, on the first sabbath in May, with the text, "Not by might nor by power, but by my spirit, saith the Lord." Zech., iv, 6. In his journal, shortly after his arrival in Brooklyn, he makes an entry as follows: "Six months in Brooklyn. The people very hard to please. Because their last two pastors became bishops, and were men of great talents, they expect everything from me, in and out of the pulpit." He proved himself, however, fully competent to attend to the needs of his church.
Among the first acts under his rectorship was the establishment of a Second Sabbath School, which was formed from the overflow of the original one. It was commenced in August, 1833, with a small number of children, and was held for a time in the gallery of the church, then in several other places, until it was finally established, in 1837, in a second story which was added for the purpose, to the building occupied by School No. 1. A Bible class was also commenced, but subsequently suspended, because it encroached too much on other meetings and duties. In 1839, was built the third rectory, a substantial brick house, located in the church yard, fronting Sands street, which was first occupied in the spring Of 1840. In September, 1841, a parish library was opened to the free use of the congregation, which has had its influence in promoting the welfare of the church. In the year 1833, the members of St. Ann's inaugurated an orphan asylum, which has since efficiently but noiselessly performed its appropriate work, guided by the experience, cheered by the sympathy and liberality, and seconded by the labors of various noblehearted individuals of the parish. An education society formed many years previous, was continued until 1836 and 1837, when it was dissolved. By its means, a very large amount of funds was raised, of which over $2,000 were paid over to the Theological Seminary of Virginia. 
In May, 1843, the rector was again obliged to seek recreation for his overtasked energies, in a voyage to Europe, from which he returned in November following. Continued ill-health, however, compelled the vestry to secure the services of an assistant minister in the parish, and their choice fell upon Mr. Charles Bancroft, whose acceptable ministrations they bad previously enjoyed during the absence of their beloved rector. He commenced his duties in St. Ann's on the 22d of May, 1844, and was a great acquisition to the church.
Rev. Dr. Cutler's pastorate extended over nearly thirty years, until his death on the 10th of February, 1863, deeply lamented by the entire community in which he had so efficiently and acceptably labored for a whole generation. In a quarter-century discourse, preached in May, 1858, he stated that the number of communicants added during those twenty-five years, was seven hundred and seventy-five; of persons baptized, one thousand three hundred and eighty two; of marriages, five hundred and nine; of burials, eight hundred and twenty-three; of confirmations, on fourteen occasions, five hundred and fifty-eight persons.
The Rev. Lawrence H. Mills, who had been officiating previous to Dr. Cutler's death, succeeded him as rector, March, 1864. Steps were taken soon afterward, toward erecting a new church and chapel on the corner of Clinton and Livingston streets, from designs prepared by Messrs. Renwick and Sands; and the chapel was begun in 1866, and opened for divine services in the following year, April 7, 1867. Upon the withdrawal of Mr.. Mills, on the first of April, 1867, the Rev. N. H. Schenck, D.D., was called, and inducted into the rectorship on Ascension day, the thirtieth of May. The corner-stone of the present magnificent church edifice, was laid on the 5th of June, 1867, by the bishop of the diocese, the Rev. Drs. Littlejohn and Schenck delivering addresses. The church was opened for divine worship on Wednesday, October 21, 1869, by Charles P. Mellvaine, bishop of Ohio (and a former rector of St. Ann's) assisted by a large number of bishops and clergy , The music on this memorable day, was rendered by a choir of fifty, under the direction of the organist of the church, John W. Lovitz, Jr. and a historical discourse was delivered on the evening of the same day by Bishop Littlejohn. The building, which we have not the space to describe, is of Belleville and Cleveland stone; and of the middle pointed gothic. Its dimensions are seventy-five by one hundred and twenty-six feet, the height from floor to roof being ninety feet; and it will seat two thousand four hundred persons, being the largest, as well as the most imposing church in edifice in Brooklyn.
In 1860, the officers of the church, desirous to render available the old burial place in Fulton street, near Clinton, which had gradually become greatly enhanced in value, with the increase of the city, procured the passage of an act by the legislature, authorizing the disinterment of the bodies and the sale of the ground. The handsome stores known as St. Ann's Buildings, now occupy the site of this ancient burial spot.
The old church, on Washington street, has been kept open for divine worship, and it is probable that services will be maintained there until the final demolition of the edifice, by the completion of the East river bridge, the Brooklyn terminus of which is to be located at this point.
The Rev. Noah Hunt Schenck, the present rector of St. Ann's, is a native of Trenton., New Jersey, passed his collegiate course at Princeton, was afterward trained for the bar, and entered upon the practice of the profession in Cincinnati. In a short time, however, he abandoned the law, studied theology, took holy orders, and removed to Chicago, where he assumed the pastoral charge of Trinity church and the editorial conduct of the Wesecrn Churchman. He was soon called to Emmanuel church, Baltimore, the leading Episcopal organization of that great city, whence in May, 1867, he came to St, Ann's, Brooklyn. Rev. Dr. Schenck is forty-two years of age. In person he is a man of commanding presence. As an elocutionist he has few equals, and since the death of the lamented Francis L. Hawks, there has probably been no such reader of the service as he in the American church. His style of preaching is ex tempore and yet not diffuse, exceedingly practical and yet not deficient in ornament, and uniformly fervid and forcible. His alma mater has always watched his course with affectionate interest, gave him the doctorate, and brought him back to her academic shades in 1866 to address the societies of the college, which he did in a discourse on The Epochs of Transition, which was a valuable contribution to the literature of the country and the age. In the pastorate of St. Ann's he recognizes a great evangelical work to be accomplished, for which we trust his life may long be spared to his church and his people. For full biography, etc., see Brooklyn Eagle, May 20, 1869.
For more than forty years this was the only Episcopal parish in Brooklyn, and of many of the churches that have risen within its borders, her members have been the chief founders, or have greatly assisted in their organization.
St. John's Church, on the corner of Washington and Johnson streets, was erected during the summer of 1826. This parish owes its origin and maintenance during many of its earlier years, to the foresight and liberality of its first rector, the Rev. Evan M. Johnson.  The edifice, built by the Rev. Mr. Johnson at his own expense, on his own land, and for several years generously furnished to the congregation free of cost, was first opened for divine service on the 24th of September, 1826 ; and for a few months be was assisted in the services by the Rev. John A. Hicks. On Easter day, 1827, there were nineteen communicants.  The day following, Theodosius Hunt and William Furman were elected church-wardens, and Evan Malbone, Joseph N. Smith, William A. Sale, Henry Dikeman, Isaac Odell, Gabriel Furman, John Taylor, and Nathan B. Morse, vestrymen. On the 10th of July, of the same year, the church was consecrated by Bishop Hobart. The attendance continuing to increase, it was considerably enlarged and improved in 1832, and purchased by the congregation. In 1835, the Rev. Jacob W. Diller became assistant minister; and in 1841, the Rev. Stephen Patterson officiated in the same relation for a year, and was followed by the Rev. Caleb S. Henry, D.D., Professor of Moral Philosophy in the University of the City of New York. A few years later, still further quite extensive repairs and improvements were made in the church especially in the arrangements of the chancel. In July, 1847, the Rev. Mr. Johnson withdrew, after the long period of over twenty years of faithful services, without remuneration; in order to establish a free mission church, St. Michael's. in a neighborhood destitute of all church privileges, where he gratuitously and successfully labored for the remainder of his days. He was succeeded in St. John's by the Rev, Samuel R. Johnson, D.D., also a devoted pastor and liberal benefactor of the parish; who, however, resigned on the 18th of November, 1850, having been elected Professor of Systematic Divinity in the General Theological Seminary in New York.
The Rev. N. A. Okeson, D.D., next filled the rectorship, entering upon his duties on the first of January, 1851, and witnessed a considerable increase in the numbers and strength of the congregation, but removed in October, 1852, and became the pastor of St. Paul's church, Norfolk, Va. His successor was the Rev. Thomas T. Guion, D.D., who commenced his labors on the 1st of February, 1853, and remained in charge until his death, in the autumn of 1862. At the end of two years, by a judicious arrangement of systematic offerings, the debt was entirely extinguished. Six years afterwards, in 1861, "a plan was resolved upon for a renovation" of the church, so extensive as to amount almost to a reedification of the decayed and unsightly structure. He lived to see that plan fulfilled, together with the erection of a new chapel, at a total cost of about twelve thousand dollars. For a few weeks only was he permitted to minister in this beautified sanctuary, when unexpectedly he was smitten down." He was buried from the church on the 24th of October, 1862, amid a large concourse of the clergy, and of his parishioners and friends.
For a few months, until permanent arrangements could be made, the Rev. George W. Nichols took charge of the services, aided by the Rev. Henry A. Spafard, before and since an assistant minister of the parish. In June, 1863, the Rev. George F. Seymour, D.D., accepted a call to the vacant rectorate, visiting the church once a month to administer the holy communion, until the first of October, when he removed to Brooklyn and took charge. Called to the Chair of Ecclesiastical History in the General Seminary in 1865, he terminated his connection with the parish on the feast of Epiphany, 1867, when the Rev. Alexander Burgess, D.D., assumed charge.
From 1826 to January, 1868, there were two thousand four hundred and thirty-one baptisms, nine hundred and twenty-seven marriages, and one thousand seven hundred and ninety-nine communicants; four hundred and eighteen being at present connected with the parish. A rectory has of late been enlarged and fitted up, adjoining the church.
In 1868, the old building, corner of Washington and Johnson streets, was sold for $90,000; and the corner-stone of a new chapel was laid, at the corner of Seventh and Douglass streets, on the 15th of June, 1869. This chapel is of red sandstone, and will accommodate about four hundred persons; a new rectory adjoins the chapel of the same material, the cost of both being about $40,000.
St. Paul's Free Church was the legitimate offspring of St. Ann's. In the month of September, 1833, the insufficiency of existing accommodations for those who were desirous of attending Episcopal services, led to the establishment of a mission or free church and the Rev. Thomas Pyne (who with the rector of St. Ann's was mainly instrumental in commencing and forwarding this work), was engaged as missionary. During the first year of its existence, services were held in the public school room in Middagh street, under the direction of a committee of management, composed of gentlemen, who, with but a single exception, were connected with St. Ann's church. The sabbath school, also, was conducted by teachers drawn mostly from St. Ann's congregation, and whose previous training had rendered them peculiarly adapted to the work of visiting the poor, searching out and clothing children and bringing them under the "droppings of the sanctuary." In September, 1834, a building in Pearl street, near Concord, which had previously been used by the First Baptist congregation, was purchased and refitted for this church, which adopted the name of St. Paul's, and was received into convention during the ensuing month. In November, 1834, Mr. Pyne resigned his charge, and the Rev. T. S. Brittain became its rector, and in June, 1835, the church was duly consecrated. Its progress for a while was gratifying, but, being supported entirely by voluntary contributions, and its debt continuing to increase, the plan was subsequently adopted of letting the pews. This, however, did not afford the desired relief, and finally, after strenuous endeavors to maintain it, in 1839 or '40, the edifice was sold, and the church services suspended for a time until a reorganization was effected under the name of Calvary church, of which the Rev. Wm. H. Lewis was invited to take charge.
Trinity Church was organized in March, 1835. Eight lots of ground on Clinton avenue, between Atlantic and Fulton avenues, were presented by Mr. Geo. W. Pine, upon which was erected a stone edifice, sixty feet long and forty-five wide, the corner-stone of which was laid by Bishop B. J. Onderdonk, June 1st, 1835, and consecrated in the following year. Its first rector was the Rev. D. V. M. Johnson, and its first vestry consisted of George W. Pine and Robert Wilson, wardens; and D. B. Douglass, Charles Hoyt, Anson Blake, J. W. Hunter, Bethuel Ackerly, Charles Bashan, A. S. Van Nostrand, and A. B. Ellison, vestrymen. Mr. Johnson, after about a year's service, removed to another field of labor, and the Rev. Dr. Thomas W. Coit took charge for about a year and a half, and afterwards the Rev. R. C. Shimeall for three years. In 1841, the parish having become embarrassed, public worship was discontinued, and the church at length sold, but was purchased and the services revived by the congregation of the present St. Luke's church.
Christ Church, corner of Clinton and Harrison streets, had its inception in the labors, principally, of members of St. Ann's parish, whose residences were in South Brooklyn, a portion of the city which was then beginning, under the impulse given by the newly established south ferry and rail road, to be rapidly settled. Services preparatory to this movement had been held by the rector of St. Ann's, during the year 1834, and on the 18th of May, 1835, the new parish of Christ church was legally organized, and formally admitted into union with the diocesan convention in October following. Its first public services were held on the first Sunday after Easter, 1837, in a chapel erected on the corner of Pacific and Court streets, thirty feet wide and sixty Ion-, with a basement for the Sunday school. The pulpit was temporarily supplied by the Rev. C. S. Henry, Rev. Fred. I. Goodwin, Rev. Prof. Turner, and Rev. Kingston Goddard, until the first sabbath in February, 1838, when Mr. Goddard was elected rector, and in 1839 he reported one hundred and nine communicants and the year following one hundred and fifty-eight, adding, "so great has been the increase of the parishioners that the chapel as enlarged, is found too limited for our accommodation. The vestry have therefore entered upon the erection of a now church, the site of which is the liberal gift of one of their own body) Nicholas Luquer, Esq." Mr. Goddard resigned his charge on the 26th of April, 1841, and the Rev. Dr. John Seely Stone was called to succeed him on the 11th of May. He entered upon his duties on the 1st of July, following.
The corner-stone of the new church, on the corner of Clinton and Harrison streets; was laid on the twenty-sixth of June, 1841, by the bishop of the diocese, the Rev. Dr. Cutler delivering an address; and so expeditiously did the work proceed, that the edifice was consecrated on the 28th of July, 1842, and opened for public worship on sabbath) the 3d of August. The congregation was at once greatly enlarged, and during the following years steadily received accessions from the increasing population of this new part of the city. The church, designed by Mr. Richard Upjohn, is a purely Gothic building, constructed of fine-grained Jersey freestone, and with the tower and chapel measures one hundred and fifty-five feet in length, and sixty in breadth. The exterior is exceedingly chaste and pleasing in effect, with walls well flanked by buttresses, and a massive tower of imposing dimensions, one hundred and seventeen feet in height, serving as a porch and organ gallery, and furnished with a bell and clock. The interior presents a nave and aisles of seven bays, with a lofty ceiling of heavy spandrels, and chancel at the west end of the nave. The altar-screen, pews, and galleries are of black walnut, richly panneled. Its cost, exclusive of the land and church furniture, was $33,000. Dr. Stone continued as rector until November, 1852, and for about three years was aided in his pastoral work by assistants, Revs. H. M. Dennison, and B. W. Stone. During an absence of five months in Europe, in 1848, the Rev. A. D. McCoy supplied the rector's place. During Dr. Stone's rectorship there were in the parish, one hundred and eight marriages, five hundred and twelve baptisms, one hundred and seventy-eight funerals and one hundred and thirty-five confirmations. On the 1st of January, 1853, the Rev. E. H. Canfield, D.D., succeeded Dr. Stone as rector. The congregation, which was at that time involved with a debt of $13,500, discharged said incumbrance before the 10th of June following; and, in 1856, the chapel and sabbath school accommodations were enlarged to nearly double their former dimensions, at a cost of about $2,500. In 1861, a new slate roof, and a substantial iron fence around the church and grounds were added at an expense of about $2,500.
In 1860, the corner-stone of a mission chapel was laid on the corner of Clinton and Luquer streets, which was completed in the course of the following year (see Christ Church Mission Chapel), and which was maintained with a rector, at the expense of the congregation of Christ church, until the spring of 1867, when it was organized under the name of the Church of our Savior, and commenced an independent existence. [For moe on this church jump to Christ Church Mission Chapel
The congregation of Christ church have since established another mission chapel on Red Hook point, the cornerstone of which was laid by the Rev. Dr. Canfield, on the 8th of November, 1867; under the charge of the Rev. William Hyde and subsequently of the Rev. Carlos E. Butler, a congregation has been gathered, filling the neat and commodious brick edifice, and numbering eighty communicants. The basement is appropriated to the Sunday school, attached to which are already nearly four hundred children. In every respect this effort has proved an eminent success. The Rev. Charles H. Tucker is at present in charge.
The Rev. Dr. Canfield graduated at the Theological Seminary of Alexandria, in 1844, and was rector of St. Peter's church at Delaware, Ohio, until 1850, when he took charge of St. Peter's church, New York, from which he removed to this parish. During the first ten years of his successful ministry there were five hundred and eighty-one baptisms, two hundred and forty-six confirmations, the number of communicants increased to five hundred and sixty-nine, one hundred and twenty-seven marriages, two hundred and twenty-seven funerals, and the sum of $92,589.78 contributed to religious and benevolent objects. Owing to impaired health, Dr. Canfield resigned in October, 1869, and the Rev. Lucius W. Bancroft, D.D., was called to the rectorship.
St. Mary's Church was begun on Classon avenue at the Wallabout, by the Rev. D. V. M. Johnson, while in charge of Trinity church. A Sunday school was commenced in March, 1836, and formed the nucleus of a church. Here the Rev. Mr. Johnson held services on Sunday afternoons for about six months. In May, 1837, Mr. Joseph Hunter took charge of the school, and served as a lay-reader to a small congregation which assembled with the children. During the year an edifice of a very limited extent was erected, and a church organized, to which the name of St. Mary's was given. This was consecrated on the first of February, 1840, and was enlarged in 1841, so as to accommodate about two hundred and fifty persons. The Rev. John F. Messenger officiated for a year, when lie was succeeded by the Rev. Mr. Hunter, who had been admitted to the deaconate on the seventh of' July, 1839. Upon his removal to South Carolina in 1847, the Rev. Thomas T. Guion of Danbury, Conn., was settled here for one year. The Rev. John A. Spooner, in November, 1848, took charge, and in November, 1849, the Rev. John W. Shackelford was called to the rectorship. The parish grew rapidly during the following years, and the church was twice enlarged. In 1856, the Rev. Mr. Johnson, who was originally instrumental in forming the parish; and the accommodations being no longer adequate, ground was purchased in the neighborhood, on Classon avenue, near Myrtle, one hundred and sixty-four feet front and two hundred and eighteen deep. The corner-stone of a new edifice of brown freestone was laid in the summer of 1858; and the neat and tasteful Gothic structure, designed by Mr. Auchmuty, fifty-eight feet wide and one hundred and fifteen feet long, with its tower and spire, and a capacious basement fitted up for the Sunday school, completed in the year following, and opened for divine services on Trinity Sunday. The outlay for ground and church was $32,000; the sittings are free. On the 24th of May 186:1, St. -Mary's was consecrated by the bishop of the diocese, the Rev. Dr. William F. )IorgaD, Of St. Thomas's church, New York, preaching the sermon Recently a commodious rectory has been built and the church edifice much Improved.
The early records of the parish, embracing three or four years, have been lost; since which time, there have been one thousand and thirty-eight baptisms. of which one hundred and twenty-nine were of adults; five hundred and fifty-three confirmations, nine hundred and forty communicants enrolled, of whom four hundred and eighty are now connected with this church; two hundred and ninety marriages, and six hundred and nine burials.
Emmanuel Church in Sidney Place, was incorporated in 1841. A neat brick edifice, finished in the spring of 1842, was consecrated on the third of March of that year, and the Rev. Kingston Goddard became the first rector. The vestry in 1843 were Conklin Brush and Oliver H. Gordon, wardens; George Hastings, Henry S. Wyckoff, Edward Whitehouse, Williain Dumont, D. 11. Arnold, G. F. Duckwitz, R. W. Aborn, and George F. Thourac, vestrymen ; and Charles Cori-don, acting secretary. Early in 1844, the Rev. Mr. Goddard resigned his charge, and soon after the Rev. Francis Vinton, D.D., of Trinity church, Newport, R. I., was called to the rectorship, and entered upon his duties in the following August. The progress of the parish was such as to warrant, a few years later, the building of a large and costly church.
At a meeting held in the basement of Emmanuel church on the 3d of May, 1847, a new organization, under the name of Grace church, was effected, and this building sold after the present edifice on the corner of Hicks street and Grace court was ready for occupancy.
Calvary Free Church, Pearl street, near Concord. Upon the dissolution of the congregation of St. Paul's, about the year 1840, their church edifice was purchased by Edpr J. Bartow, Esq., improved and appropriately fitted up, furnished with a bell and organ, and opened on the 15th of November, for public worship. The Rev. William H. Lewis was invited by Mr. Bartow to take charge, with the guaranty of a support on his own responsibility for one year ; and at a meeting of those friendly to the formation of a new parish, held on the 15th of December, 1840, it was resolved to organize under the name of Calvary church, with the following gentlemen a officers: Capt. John T. Newton and Joseph Christopher, wardens; John T. Davenport, Darius Wells, Edward Doyle, Edgar J. Bartow, Isaac Peck, Joseph Pettit, David Gardner, and Nicholas Luquer, vestrymen, who rented the building on easy terms, pledging themselves to keep it open as a free church until Easter, 1842. The appointment of Mr. Lewis as rector was confirmed; and in the following autumn, he reported to convention that "in a few months, the accommodations were found insufficient, and Mr. Bartow,. at the request of the vestry, very cheerfully consented to enlarge them at his own expense."
Mr. Lewis resigned on the 15th of June, 1847, having taken charge of the Church of the Holy Trinity, the chapel of which had just been completed and ready for occupancy. During his rectorate there had been four hundred and fifty-one baptisms, one hundred and ninety-three confirmations, seventy-nine marriages, two hundred and twentythree funerals, and a list of resident communicants increased to three hundred and sixty-four.
Calvary church may be well considered the parent church of the Holy Trinity, as not only a large portion of the congregation, but its founder, rector, organist, choir, and sexton, all became connected with the latter, in the same relations.
In the old fold of Calvary Church, a new and flourishing congregation was gathered under the care of the Rev. John F. Fish, D.D., who had been assisting in the parish for a short time. In consequence of impaired health, in 1849, he accepted a chaplaincy in the United States army; and during the following years, under the charge of several clergymen,  none of whom remained long, the parish underwent great fluctuations, sometimes intermitting all services, and finally, in 1861, ceased to exist.
St. Luke's Church was a reorganization, in June, 1842, from the elements of the Trinity Church (see page 665), and occupied the same edifice. The Rev. Jacob W. Diller was called to the rectorship on the 29th of June of the same year, the church numbering at that time, twenty-seven, and the next year forty-six communicants. The plot of ground, one hundred by two hundred Peet, furnished a space in the rear for a rectory, built some years afterward; and for the enlargement of the church edifice, which became necessary as the parish increased. This was effected in the summer of 1853, when a chancel and transepts were added at an outlay of over $15,000, after designs by Mr. Frank Wills. And although the venerable rector, since the time when his church stood almost alone in the fields, has witnessed the formation of several parishes in his neighborhood, and the enlargement of his own edifice, it is understood that still greater accommodations are necessary for the dense population that has steadily gathered around him. The number of baptisms in this parish has been one thousand eight hundred and twenty-two, of confirmations six hundred and sixty-five, marriages four hundred, and burials, one thousand and fifty-six. Commencing with twelve communicants the number enrolled has been one thousand three hundred and ninety-nine, of whom one hundred and eight died while in this parish; the present number is three hundred and eighty. The daily service has been maintained for the last fifteen years, and latterly a weekly communion.
This parish in the spring of 1869, abolished the pew system, and began its career as a free church, with encouraging prospects of entire success.
St. Thomas's Church was organized, on Easter Monday, 1843, as a free church under the ministry of the Rev. John F. Messenger, who died April 1, 1846; and was succeeded in the rectorship by the Rev. R. H. Bourne, who resigned in 1850, and became assistant minister of Christ church, Pelham, N. Y. During his ministry here the congregation, who, since their organization had worshipped in a small building in Navy street, near Myrtle avenue, undertook the erection of a new church edifice on the corner of Bridge and Willoughby streets. The frame of this building (sixty by thirty feet), was raised in April; the corner-stone laid by the Rev. Dr. Cutler, and others assisting, June 9th ; and divine worship first held on Sunday, September 26, 1847. The cost of the church was $2,700 and of the land $2,500. In January, 1851, the rectorship of St. Thomas's was accepted by the Rev. Wm. F. Walker, of Conn., who was deposed from the priestly office, October 14, 1853.
On the 27th of February, 1852, the Rev. John Frederick Schroeder, D.D., took charge of the services, and in April following was appointed rector. In December, 1853, the edifice was disposed of for $4,500 to a German Roman Catholic society (St. Bonefacius), and the congregation removed to Bridge street, between Myrtle and Johnson for a time, but eventually separated, and became connected with other churches.
The Church of the Holy Trinity. This noble and costly edifice had its origin in the summer of 1844, in the pious desire of Edgar J. Bartow, Esq., to devote a large portion of his substance to the glory of God and the extension of his kingdom on earth. He selected the site and employed Minard Lefever, one of the most accomplished and talented architects of his day, to furnish the design and working plans. These plans were modified, in many of their details, by the cultivated taste of Mr. Bartow, and generally in the direction of increased ornamentation and expense. He was steadfastly purposed to erect a temple for the worship and glory of God which should, in every line and feature, embody "the beauty of holiness." His ample wealth, at the time, enabled him to set aside considerations of cost; and, in order that everything should be well done, he paid for much of the labor upon the building by the day.  It is supposed by those best acquainted with the facts, that the chapel and church cost not far from $175,000 (the latter without the tower and spire).
The chapel was opened for public worship on Trinity Sunday, June 7th, 1846; the Rev. William H. Lewis, then rector of Calvary church, officiating. The church of the Holy Trinity was first opened for divine service, April 25, 1847, by the same clergyman. On the 27th of November, 1851, this parish was duly organized by the election of wardens and vestrymen, the former consisting of Ilon. Conklin Brush and Hon. Nathan B. Morse. The Rev. W. H. Lewis, D.D., who had officiated from the first opening of the church in 1847, was called to the rectorship of the parish, and the Rev. T. Stafford Drowne was elected assistant minister, having been serving in this position since November 1, 1848. On the 30th of September, 1852, the parish was admitted into union with the convention of the diocese of New York.
Up to the 27th of March, 1856, the vestry and congregation were only tenants of the church; having exercised, except during a brief interval, no control over its temporalities. Mr. Bartow, as owner of the edifice, managing these according to his own will and judgment. But, at this time, lie fell into such serious pecuniary embarrassments as obliged him to forego his cherished plan of completing it and transferring it to the congregation free of debt, and to offer the property for sale. It was purchased by the congregation for $100,000, a part of which was paid soon after the date of purchase. The church was formally consecrated on the 23d of September, 1856, by the Rt. Rev. Dr. Potter, D.D., LL.D., bishop of Now York.
Under the zealous and faithful labors of Rev. Dr. Lewis, the congregation rapidly increased in numbers and strength. After a ministry of nearly fourteen years in Holy Trinity, he resigned the rectorship,  and was succeeded by the Rev. A. N. Littlejohn, D.D , who entered upon his duties on the Sunday after Easter, 1860.  At this time the indebtedness of the parish was very large, amounting to little less than $70,000; while, from various causes, the strength of the congregation bad been seriously diminished. The debt has since been reduced to a small fraction of that amount and what is left will soon disappear under the action of a permanent sinking fund created by surplus of revenue over expenditure. The parish has advanced to a high degree of vigor and prosperity, its communicants. numbering nearly six hundred. The tower and spire of the church rising to an elevation of two hundred and seventy-five feet, have just been completed at a cost of about $55,000; and it is expected that a full chime of bells will be provided in a year or two. The rectory, which had become alienated under the pressure of pecuniary troubles in the earlier history of the parish has been purchased and reincorporated with the property of the church.
As the affairs of this parish were a topic of general interest, for several years, to this community, owing especially to its precarious hold upon the splendid edifice whose origin and history have been given above, it may be well to state as evidence that no like embarrassment can ever recur, that during the past six years, the congregation of Holy Trinity have raised for parochial, missionary and benevolent objects, about $245,000, or an average of over $40,000 per annum.
The Rev. Dr. Littlejohn withdrew from the rectorship upon being consecrated bishop of Long Island on the 27th of January, 1869; and the Rev. Charles H. Hall, D.D., of Washington became rector, and entered upon his duties on the 1st of March.
Dr. Hall was born at Augusta Georgia, on the 7th day of November, 1820, went to school when very young at Andover, Massachusetts, and graduated at Yale College in 1842. He was ordained deacon by the Right Rev. Benjamin T. Onderdonk, Bishop of New York, at the request of Bishop Brownell in 1844, and was ordained priest by the latter prelate in November, 1845, being then settled at Huntington, Long Island. He stayed there for two years, when he went to West Point, where he married. He removed from West Point to South Carolina, where he remained eight years. In 1856 he was called to the rectorship of the Church of the Epiphany, Washington. At the breaking out of the war Dr. Hall was created Doctor of Divinity by three colleges at the same time, namely: by Columbia College, New York, Hobart College , Geneva, and St. James's College , Maryland.
The present wardens are Mr. Horace Webster and Mr. Charles A. Townsend; and vestrymen, Messrs. Joseph W. Greene, William B. Leonard, Samuel E. Howard, George H. Dickinson, Edward Todd, Christopher Lippitt, George H. Burritt and Pickering Clark. 
Grace Church, Brooklyn Heights, was organized on the 3d of May, 1847 (see Emmanuel Church, page 668), and the Rev. Dr. Francis Vinton called as rector. The corner-stone of the new edifice, on Hicks street and Grace court, was laid by the Rt. Rev. William H. De Lancey, D.D., Bishop of Western New York, on St. Peter's day, the 29th of June, 1847. The church, designed by Mr. Richard Upjohn, consists of nave and aisles; chancel raised four steps above the nave and separated from the sacrarium by a rise of another step and a light metal railing, gilt; a sacristy on the north side of the chancel with an entrance through a turret, in which is the bell. The original plans contemplated a south-west tower of effective proportions, one hundred and sixty-seven feet high, which has not yet been executed. The style chosen is late middle pointed. The chancel screens, altar, sedilia, and other furniture of the church are of black walnut, while the constructive features, the roof and the columns, are pine, painted. The font is of stone of large size and elaborate design, and stands at the south-western doorway. The nave has an organ gallery at the west end; and the space underneath was formerly screened off for a chapel, but has since been fitted up as a part of the church. The roofs of the nave and chancel are enriched with polychromatic painting, and the walls in several parts with texts appropriately executed. 'On Christmas day, 1848, the church, being entirely freed from debt, was opened for divine services; and on the 26th of June, 1849, it was consecrated by the Rt. Rev. William R. Wbittingliam, D.D., bishop of Maryland.
The Rev. Dr. Vinton resigned on the 25th of June, 1855, and accepted the office of assistant minister in Trinity Church, New York. On the 23d of the following October, the Rev Jared B. Flagg, D.D., was called to the rectorate, and continued to discharge its duties until the 20th of October, 1863. During his connection with the parish, the rectory was built on Remsen street. The Rev. Eugene A. Hoffman, D.D., was elected to fill the vacancy on the 23d of February, 1864. A large and commodious Sunday school building, with apartments for the sexton in the basement, and for a parochial school and almonry on the first floor, has since been added at the west end of the church, the corner-stone of which was laid by Bishop Potter on the 21st of March, 1865; and the chancel of the church has been improved by polychrome decoration, and an eagle lectern of brass.
The statistics of this parish for twenty years, from 1848 to 1867, inclusive, are nine hundred and eighteen baptisms, one hundred and twenty being adults, seven hundred and ninety-eight infants ; confirmations, five hundred and ninety-one, marriages, two hundred and five, burials, three hundred and thirty-one, and the present number of communicants five hundred and thirty-nine. The contributions for church purposes from 1856 to 1863 inclusive, eight years, were $60,023.32; and from 1864 to 1869 inclusive, six years, $162,709.17, in all, $222,732.49 for the last fourteen years. The Rev. Dr. Hoffman resigned in the spring of 1869, having accepted a call to St. Mark's church, Philadelphia, and was succeeded by the Rev. Benjamin H. Paddock, D.D., who assumed charge on Trinity Sunday, May 23d.
Protestant Episcopal Church of the Reformation. A parish under this name was organized, September 20, 1847, by the labors, and under the pastoral charge of the Rev. Thomas S. Britton, in the vicinity of Atlantic street, in South Brooklyn. Services were first held in a school room on the corner of Henry and Atlantic streets. Mr. Britton, however, abjured Episcopacy, in 1848, and united himself with the Brooklyn Presbytery, and the church became extinct.
St. Michael's Church. In the year 1847, the Rev. Evan M. Johnson resigned the rectorship of St. John's church, Brooklyn, for the purpose of establishing a new congregation in the fifth ward of the city, at that time lamentably deficient in religious privileges, there being but one house of worship within its limits, and a population of twenty or thirty thousand souls. Hiring a lecture room in Marshall street, near the Jackson ferry, he commenced to hold meetings in September of that year.
Such was the success which attended the labors of the Rev. gentlemen, that this building soon became insufficient to accommodate the congregation, and he accordingly leased from the city for ten years, the building known as the Eastern Market, in High street, in the Fifth ward. Services were first held here on the 5th of February, 1848. Soon this building failed to accommodate the constantly increasing congregation, and in 1849, the Rev. Mr. Johnson caused to be built an addition to it, some forty by fifty feet in dimensions, which made a very comfortable and commodious church edifice. In 1852, the Board of Education established a primary week day school, for which the church was used, and where some two hundred children received instruction.
In the year 1849, the Rev. William T. Webbe was elected assistant minister of the church for the year. No stronger evidence of his success and the satisfaction which his labors afforded the congregation and the rector, need be required than the statement of the fact that he has been, regularly chosen, from year to year. to that position ever since.
A Sunday school was established in connection with the church at its first organization, which has been of great service to the locality. It is now, and has been for years, in a most prosperous condition. The church has been regularly incorporated, with wardens and vestrymen, etc., and a parsonage estimated to be worth about $3,500, erected in connection with it. The church has been maintained by voluntary contributions and collections made by its support, and is now in a satisfactory and flourishing condition.
From the organization of the church to his death, in 1865, the Rev. Mr. Johnson labored unceasingly in the effort to establish and firmly maintain St. Michael's church, and officiated at least once a day during the last three years of his life.
Lately a new church edifice and rectory of brick, designed by the Mr. Henry M. Congdon, architect, has been erected in High street, near Gold. Rev. W. T. Webbe continued as rector until June, 1869.
St. Peter's. This parish was commenced about the year 1847, by a few individuals who worshiped at first in a large brick building in Powers street, under the pastoral charge of Rev. William Staunton. The parish was regularly organized and admitted into convention, May 18, 1848, and the congregation, which subsequently worshiped in a brick building in Atlantic St., near Nevins St., gradually increased in numbers and strength. In July, 1849, Mr. Staunton removed to Glastenbury, Conn.; and, after his resignation, rooms were hired in a private residence in Atlantic street, between Bond and Nevins, where the congregation were for a time dependent on the services of neighboring clergymen.
In the summer of that year (1849), Rev. John Stearns accepted an invitation to the rectorship of the parish. In June, 1850, the corner-stone of a church was laid, at the junction of Atlantic and Bond streets. The church was of brick, designed to seat about four hundred. people. In September, the congregation were enabled to meet in the lower room of the new building.
In the spring of 1855, Mr. Stearns resigned the charge of the parish, and was succeeded by the present rector, Rev. John A. Paddock. About seventy-five communicants were found to be connected with the church. The next year, the need being felt of a larger edifice, the corner-stone for a new structure was laid on the 30th day of June, upon a site obtained in State street, near Bond. This building was opened for divine service on the festival of the Epiphany (January 6th), 1857. The main walls are of a blueish stone from Greenwich, Conn., the moulded and angle parts of the front being of Caen stone, contrasting well in its lighter color with the face of the ordinary walling. The church is arranged to seat from eight to nine hundred, with commodious rooms for Sunday school and Bible classes. The cost, with the lots, furniture, etc., was about $45,000. The formal consecration of the building was deferred until the debt was entirely removed, and took place on the 23d of April, 1865. In the necessary absence of the bishop of the diocese, the Rt. Rev. Dr. Bedell officiated and preached the sermon.
A mission school was begun by members of the parish in hired rooms in Nevins street, on Sunday, the 6th day of March, 1859. A chapel was afterwards erected in Wyckoff street, near Bond, and the school was there continued. In this building, divine service has also been held until November, 1865, Rev. James S. Barnes having charge and acting as an assistant to the rector of the parish. The number of children under instruction at the parish church and chapel is now from seven to eight hundred. The number of communicants is about five hundred and fifty.
St. Paul's Church, Clinton, corner of Carroll street. This parish was organized on Christmas day, 1849, under the pastoral charge of the Rev. Isaac P. Labagh. The original church edifice, built in 1850, consisted of a nave, tower, and spire. Transepts were added in 1852, making it cruciform, with a recessed chancel. In June, 1858, the Rev. T. Stafford Drowne became rector, the Rev. Mr. Labagh having removed to Calvary church, Brooklyn. The steady growth of the congregation rendered necessary a second enlargement of the building in 1860, which was effected by taking down the walls of the nave, supporting the roof with columns, and adding aisles, making an edifice sixty-eight feet in width, and ninety-four feet in length including the tower; and with accommodations sufficient for about seven hundred persons. The building was gothic in design, and the material brick, trimmed with freestone. In 1866, the present edifice was commenced. The style is gothic, and the architect is Mr. Richard M. Upjohn. The walls are of rough hewn blue granite, handsomely relieved with Newark and Ohio sandstone; and the interior columns are monoliths of brown stone, with massive pedestals, and elaborately carved capitals in Cleveland stone. The edifice has a front of seventy-five feet on Clinton street, and a depth of one hundred and forty-five feet, one side being on Carroll street. It is sixty-seven feet high in the nave, and will be surmounted by graceful spire one hundred and eighty-five feet in height; and will seat congregation of one thousand people. The massive masonry of the aisles, nave and transept walls, the lofty gables filled with large windows of effective designs, the front porch with clustered columns of variegated stone elaborately carved; and the triple apses at the eastern end for chancel, sacristy, and organ chamber, with their highpitched, slated roofs, all serve to break and diversify the exterior, and reader the view picturesque and impressive. In the chancel there are five large windows, which have the figure of our Saviour as the Good Shepherd in the centre, and the Major Prophets in the other four, with symbols of the Holy Evangelists in the lower compartments. The roof is open timbered, and is highly adorned in polychrome, with blue panels, and gold and vermilion borders, while the clere-story walls are treated with Venetian red, ornamented with diaper work and the lower portion of the walls are left in quiet colors. The furniture of the church is of black walnut, with an eagle lecturn and a font constructed of stone and marble, adorned with sculptured heads and foliage, and standing upon a stone platform inlaid with a cross of encaustic tiles; the floors of the chancel, porches and tower are also paved with tiles of varied designs. The cost of the structure was $150,000. It was first opened for divine services on Sunday, the 19th of September, 1869, the Rt. Rev. A. N. Littlejohn, D.D., delivering an appropriate and congratulatory address, and administering the rite of confirmation. There have been in this parish six hundred and seventy-two baptisms, three hundred and five confirmations, nine hundred and seventy-five admitted to the holy communion, two hundred and fifteen marriages, three hundred and five burials, and during the last ten years, about $100,000 contributed to parochial and general objects.
The present rector, the Rev. Dr. Drowne, was born at Fruit Hill, North Providence, R. I., July 9, 1823. He was graduated at Brown University, Providence, September 3, 1845; and at the General Theological Seminary, New York city, June 30, 1848; and immediately afterwards was admitted to holy orders. November 1, 1848, he became assistant minister of the church of the Holy Trinity, Brooklyn Heights, where he continued until his removal to St. Paul's. His published writings consist of a discourse on the End of Pride, in 1853, the letter-press of a large quarto volume on Architecture in 1856, a Commemorative Discourse on the Completion of the Church of the Holy Trinity, Brooklyn, in 1867, and various theological, critical and literary articles from time to time in magazines and reviews.
St. Mark's Church, formerly in Fleet street, was the result of a missionary effort undertaken by the Church of the Holy Trinity in the year 1850, aided and encouraged by the hearty sympathy and liberality of the other Episcopalian congregations of the city. The edifice erected, although plain and economical, was comfortable and substantial, and was a free-will offering, on the part of Christians, to the cause of the Redeemer, valuable donations having been received towards fitting it up, in addition to subscriptions for its erection, and the work having been done by builder and mason, without charge, except for the mere cost of labor and material. Its corner-stone was laid June 24th, and it was first opened for divine worship on sabbath evening, September 29, 1850; the Rev. Francis Peck, becoming its first rector. Originally established as a free church, and sustained chiefly by the parish of the Holy Trinity, it was, in 1856, thrown upon its own resources, and resorted to the renting of the pews for its necessary support. On the withdrawal of the Rev. Mr. Peck, early in 1859, the Rev. Edmund Embury accepted the rectorship for a short time, and was succeeded by the Rev. Thomas G. Carver, who entered upon his duties on the third Sunday in Advent of the same year. Soon afterward, the church edifice was sold, and a new building constructed near the Fort Greene park, which, however, was after a few years abandoned; this parish having, in 1865, purchased the church formerly occupied by the congregation of the Messiah in Adelphi street. The present rector is the Rev. Thomas F. Cornell, who succeeded the Rev. Mr. Carver on the 1st of October, 1861.
The Church of the Messiah was organized on the 22d of August, 1850, under the rectorship of the Rev. William H. Newman, with twenty communicants. Mr. Newman resigned upon the let of June, 1851, and the Rev. Robert J. Walker was elected and continued in charge until June lot, 1858, when he resigned. He also accepted from the Protestant Episcopal Church Missionary Society for Seamen in the City and Port of New York, an appointment as missionary, and has been a most faithful and successful laborer among that class at the Sailor's Home, and hospitals of New York and Brooklyn. His successor was Rev. Octavius Perinebief, who was obliged to resign after eight months' service, on account of his failing health, and was succeeded, June lot, 1859, by Rev. George E. Thraill. The Rev. George W. Nichols was his assistant between two and three years.
The corner-stone of the first edifice, originally occupied by this congregation, was laid July 19, 1852; the building was of brick, in gothic style, forty by fifty feet deep, with tower fifty feet high, and buttresses, seating some three hundred persons, and cost about $5,000. This was enlarged in 1859, at a cost of over $2,000, so as to seat five hundred and fifty persons. In 1863, the edifice being found too small for the congregation, the vestry purchased a large, unfinished brick structure upon the corner of Greene and Clermont avenues, originally erected for the Presbyterians, and capable of seating a thousand persons. The sum paid was $25,000, and the completion of the edifice, after the plans of Mr. James H. Giles, architect, cost $42,000 additional. The first services were held in this new church on the 30th of March, 1865. There are at the rear of the church capacious apartments for lecture room and the use of the Sunday school, and the design originally contemplated a spire.
The Rev. Mr. Thrall, after ten years' service in this parish resigned, and was succeeded by the present rector, the Rev. Richard B. Duane, D.D., in September, 1869.
St. George's Church, Third avenue corner of Eighteenth street, Gowanus. This parish was formed, in the fall of 1852, by the Missionary labors of the Rev. Alvah Guion, in the Gowanus neighborhood of Brooklyn, near Greenwood cemetery. On sabbath, September 19, of that year, he held divine services in Mechanics' Hall, Third avenue, corner of Eighteenth street, and by the spring of the following year, a small parish was organized under the title of St. George's Church, South Brooklyn. Its first rector was the Rev. G. Lewis Platt, assistant minister of St. Ann's, who entered upon his duties on Sunday, April 10, 1853. It is now extinct.
Church of the Redeemer, Pacific, corner of Fourth avenue. This church commenced services, June 26th, 1853, in a hall over the market, corner of Fulton avenue and Elm place, and was at first under the ministrations of the Rev. Henry E. Duncan, and several other clergymen, until November, when the Rev. David P. Sanford was called to the rectorship. In 1854 the vestry purchased seven lots of ground, the present site, and proceeded to erect a chapel capable of containing five hundred persons. The edifice was in the Byzantine style, after designs by Mr. G. Wheeler, architect, and cost with the lots, $18,000. It was first occupied for public worship at Easter, 1855. In its early efforts this parish was liberally aided by the church of the Holy Trinity. In the summer of 1858, the Rev. Charles S. Putnam became rector, but resigned on account of failing health in May, 1859, and was after a brief interval succeeded by the Rev. Edward Jessup.
On the 24th of April, the corner-stone of a new church for this parish was laid by the bishop of the diocese, on which occasion Bishop Coxe, of the diocese of New York, made the address. The edifice is of blue stone, with sandstone trimming, and consists of nave, aisles, chancel, with recesses on either side for the organ and antiphonal choirs. It has an altar and font of elaborately carved Caen stone, with chancel and other furniture of black walnut. The expenditure, including the cost of the organ, was a little over $30,000. On the 1st of July, 1866, the opening services were held, the Rt. Rev. C. T. Quintard, D.D., bishop of Tennessee, supplying the place of the bishop of the diocese, who was unavoidably absent. This church has since been elegantly decorated with polychrome.
Emmanuel Church originated in an organization, known as Ascension Church, in 1853, under the rectorship of the Rev. William 0. Lamson, at which time the corner-stone of a building was laid at the corner of Third place and Smith street, the congregation worshiping in a hall at the corner of Court and Sackett streets. On November 27, 1864, the organization was changed to the Free Church of the Good Angels, and the Rev. John H. Hobart Brown was elected rector. In 1857 the church was organized under its present name, and occupies an elegant structure of brown stone in the gothic style on the corner of Smith and President streets, calculated to hold about seven hundred persons, and costing over $30,000.
The Rev. Mr. Brown resigned on the 6th of July, 1857, and was succeeded on the lot of - October following by the Rev. Edward De Zeng. Upon his withdrawal in 1860, the Rev. Thomas Powell, with the Rev. Edmund Embury as associate, took charge of the parish for two years; the Rev. Patrick Henry Greenleaf, D.D., having been called to the rectorship in 1862. The latter died suddenly, after a successful pastorate, on the 21st of June, 1869, and the Rev. Henry B. Walbridge, D.D., a short time afterward became rector.
Christ Church Mission Chapel, corner of Clinton and Luquer streets, South Brooklyn, had its first beginning in an humble frame building known as Mission Hall, on Nelson street, which was rented (for Sunday use), for the purpose, from the ladies of the Industrial School Association. The first service was held there, on the morning of November 22d, 1857, by the pastor, Rev. James S. Barnes, in the presence of about forty persons. After three years' occupancy of these quarters, measures were taken for the erection of a new building, the corner-stone of which was laid on the 7th of December , 1860, by Bishop Potter; and on the 27th of October, 1861, the building was opened for divine worship. It is a neat brick building, ninety by forty-five feet, accommodating an auditory of five hundred persons, and with a sabbath school room in the basement, of the same dimensions. It was built by Christ Church at a cost of $13,000 The seats are free. The land on which it stands was given for the purpose by Mr. Nicholas Luquer, s vestryman of Christ Church, and was valued at $2,000 more. The chapel was consecrated February 5, 1863. This mission, under the charge of the Rev. Mr. Postlethwaite has been organized as an independent parish. See Church of our Saviour.
Rev. James S. Barnes, was born in Williamsburgh, L. I., February 22d, 1823; studied in private, was ordained deacon in Christ Church, Hudson, N. Y., November 8, 1857, and immediately assumed the charge of this enterprise. In 1865 he removed to the mission chapel of St. Peter's church.
The Free Church of St. Matthew's on Throop avenue, in the Ninth ward of Brooklyn, was organized as a parish, May 25th, 1859, in a neighborhood where the streets were not then graded, and cornfields were frequent, though buildings were multiplying, and population fast increasing. Its first rector was Rev. 1). V. M. Johnson. Wardens, J. M. Phelps, Thomas W. Groser; Vestrymen, Jesse Carpenter, F. H. Chichester, B. J. Hathaway, Win. Phillips, Geo. Hogg, J. Oliver, D. R. Hutchinson, and D. A. Nash. In June following the parish received from Mr. Jeremiah J. Rapelje, a gift of four Iota of ground, one hundred feet square, on the south-east corner of Throop avenue and Pulaski street, on which to erect a church. On 12th of July, the vestry invited Rev. Isaac Fullerton Cox, deacon, to become the assistant minister in charge, with the rectorship in reversion, on his taking priest's orders; and on the same day, a communication was received from the vestry of St. Mary's Protestant Episcopal church, Brooklyn (from which St. Matthew's had sprung), stating that the old St. Mary's church edifice, with its furniture, pictures, and appurtenances (except communion vessels, books, font and bell), had been conveyed to Messrs. Phelps, Carpenter & Chichester, in trust, to be applied towards the building of St. Matthew's church. In October, Meson. Phelps, Groser, & Carpenter were chosen a building committee, and on the 27th of November, regular morning and evening services were commenced, and a sabbath school organized under the charge of Rev. James H. Smith, deacon. Early in December, some pecuniary aid was furnished by the convocation for church extension in Kings county, and a plan for the church edifice was prepared by Gamaliel King, architect, which (with some modifications), was adopted. On the 15th of the month, therefore, ground was broken for the new edifice, with appropriate services. April 15th, 1860, a donation towards the building of the church was received from Mrs. Harriet Rapelje and Miss Agnes Rapelje, consisting of two Iota of ground on Myrtle avenue, valued at $1,500. On the 2d of July, 1860, the corner-stone of the new edifice was laid by the rector and assistant minister, in presence of the vestry and numerous friends; and, in February, 1861, the building was first opened for divine worship, by the celebration of the Holy Communion, the bishop and the other clergymen assisting. About the same time, also a fine amalgam bell was received from the New York pilots, at Sandy Hook, through the Rev. I. F. Cox, and other articles of furniture were provided by various liberal minded friends and members. On Easter Tuesday, April 2d, the Rev. I. F. Cox died after a few days' illness, and a mural tablet of white marble, on black marble, on the eastern wall of the sacrarium, north of the altar, preserves his memory in the following inscription :"In memory of Isaac Fullerton Cox, rector elect of this church, who died on Easter Tuesday, 2d April, MDCCCLXI, in the XLIX year of his age. He was a true hearted man, a high toned gentleman, and an earnest and faithful minister of Jesus Christ. He laid the spiritual foundation of this parish, in which, although dead, he I 'yet speaketh.' 'They that be wise shall shine as the brightness of the firmament, and they that turn many to righteousness, as the stars forever and ever.' "
On the 16th of June, 1861, the Rev. James Thomson, previously rector of St. John's, Somerville, N. J., entered upon the rectorship of St. Matthew's, and continued until the spring of 1868, when the Rev. Charles S. Williams was called to fill the vacancy.
St. Matthew's is a frame building, forty-five feet wide by eighty feet deep; in gothic style (not very pure), with bell tower twelve feet square and spire one hundred and thirty feet high, and will seat four hundred and fifty persons. It cost $9,209.64.
The Church of the Reformation. The latter part of the month of November, 1866, found the Rev. Darius R. Brewer, a wandering missionary perambulating our streets, in search of some place in which to inaugurate religious services, with a view to build up an Evangelical Protestant Episcopal parish in this part of Brooklyn. He finally secured, on his own account, the use of a small upper hall at the north-west corner of Classon and Fulton avenues, at which place religious services were first held, on Sunday morning, December 2d, 1866, twenty persons being present, and fifty at the afternoon session. These services were continued Sunday mornings and afternoons, with an increase of numbers and interest, until in February following, sufficient strength bad developed itself to warrant the formation of a church. On the 18th of that mouth, therefore, a church was duly organized by the election of wardens and vestrymen; sixteen voters present and participating. At the first meeting of the vestry, on the 23d, the Rev. Mr. Brewer was elected rector, and accepted the call. Before the 20th of April, 1867, the beautiful lots, on Gates avenue, near Classon, now occupied by the church, were secured at a cost of $8,280; and, on the 22d, the vestry took measures for the erection of a chapel for the use of the church. The building committee, Messrs. E. W. Candee and James R. Allaben, set vigorously to work, and on the 4th day of May, the ground was broken for the building in presence of members and friends of the enterprise. On Sunday, the 14th of July, the edifice was so far completed as to be fit for occupancy, and on that day, three services were held there by the rector, assisted in the afternoon by Rev. Mr. Paddock, and in the evening, by the Rev. Mason Gallagher. The church was duly received into the convention of the Protestant Episcopal Church of the diocese of New York, in October, and from its beginning to the present time the congregation has increased in numbers and in strength, and has fully justified the hopes of its founders. The building is a wooden structure, gothic in style, open roof, forty feet wide and eighty feet long, with a porch in front, finished, in every respect, in a most tasteful and thorough manner, at a total cost of $8,964.11, exclusive of cost of lots.
St. Thomas (now Guion Church). On the 27th day of April, 1868, the Rev. Alvah Guion removed to La Fayette avenue near Tompkins square, a new and growing part of Brooklyn, greatly in need of more church accommodation. Mr. Guion rented an old unpleasant room, called Lefferts Park Wesley Chapel, on Van Buren street near Marcy avenue, the only one to be had in that new part of the city; in which he commenced and continued divine services and Sunday school regularly. By a systematic course of visiting from house to house, through narrow lanes, streets, and avenues, around ponds of water, and through groves, the congregation continued steadily to increase, and before the year ended, had become so large, that it was thought best to organize a parish. Pursuant to notice duly given, a meeting was held in their place of worship on the 13th day of January, 1869, when it was resolved to incorporate themselves as a religious society, by the name and title of the Rector, Wardens and Vestrymen of St. Thomas's Church, Brooklyn. The following persons were elected: Edgar Tripler and Swain Winkley, wardens Francis Depfuchl, Oliver B. Leach, Robert Clifton, A N. Camp, and Isaac H. Steel, vestrymen.
Six lots of ground, well located for a church and parsonage, on Green avenue, fronting on Tompkins square, have been purchased for $9,000, and a subscription started to raise the money for the erection of a church thereon, with encouraging prospects of speedy success.
On the 14th of October, 1869, this parish was reorganized under the name of Guion Church, and the corner-stone of a chapel was laid on the 19th of the same mouth by the bishop of the diocese.
St. Andrew's Church, New York avenue, corner of Herkimer street. This parish commenced services in a temporary building, under the pastoral charge of the Rev. Richard S. Adams, who subsequently became rector. The cornerstone of the present edifice was laid on the 23d of March, 1859, by the Rt. Rev. Horatio Southgate, D.D., who also delivered an appropriate address. On the 29th of the following September, the parish, having been duly organized, was admitted into union with convention. The church is a neat and commodious frame building in the pointed style, and since its erection, has been surrounded rapidly by a growing population. During the years 1861 and 1862, the Rev. Henry A. Spafard assisted in the services. Early in 1869 the Rev. Mr. Adams withdrew from the parish, and on the 28th of March, the present rector, the Rev. Charles Higbee entered upon his duties. The number of families belonging to this church is ninety-eight, of communicants sixty-five, and of Sunday school pupils one hundred and twenty-four.
Church of the Atonement, Seventeenth street, corner of Fifth avenue. This parish was for a time under the pastoral charge of the Rev. Joseph D. Philip, deacon, to whose exertions it is largely indebted for its existence. It was legally incorporated on the 1st of February, 1864, and was admitted into union with convention on the 29th of the following September. The Rev. Mr. Philip withdrew in the summer of 1863, and was succeeded in December by the Rev. Lea Luquer. The corner-stone of the present edifice was laid on the 6th of October, 1864, and a portion of the contemplated church built after plans by Mr. Henry M. Congdon, architect. It will seat about three hundred persons, and was opened for divine services on the 7th of September, 1865. In April, 1866, the Rev. Mr. Luquer resigned and the Rev. E. F. Remington took charge of the parish. In July, 1868, the Rev. William Hyde was called to the rectorship.
The Church of our Saviour, corner of Clinton and Luquer streets, formerly the mission chapel of Christ Church, was organized as an independent parish on the 22d of April, 1867. The Rev. William M. Postlethwaite, previously in charge, was elected rector. This church numbers two hundred and three families, and one hundred and seventy-six communicants, and is supported by the voluntary subscriptions of the congregation. A most important work among the poor is being efficiently done by the Sewing School, the Mother's Meeting, and other instrumentalities. There is also a Sunday school with fifty-four teachers, and over five hundred scholars.
The Church of the Evangelists, Degraw street, near Sixth avenue, was organized on the 23d of September, 1867. The Rev. Mason Gallagher undertook the formation of this parish, and was succeeded by the Rev. B. S. Huntington, who took charge as rector on the 1st of May, 1868. The number of families connected with the parish is twenty, and of communicants fifty. Heretofore the services have been held in chapels rented temporarily in the neighborhood, but an edifice is now nearly completed on lots owned by the congregation, which will establish the church on a permanent basis, with a fair prospect of steady growth.
Chapel of the Holy Trinity, Fulton avenue, near Utica. Services were commenced in a temporary building on the 29th of September, 1867, under the charge of the Rev, Benjamin B. Newton, assistant minister of the church of the Holy Trinity. The congregation numbered at first about thirty persons, but the increase has been encouraging, and a permanent building is contemplated in that locality. About thirty families, and fifty communicants are connected with the chapel, and expect soon to organize a parish which may be self-supporting, the church of the Holy Trinity as heretofore, continuing its aid for the coming year, The Sunday school numbers ten teachers and ninety-one pupils.
St. James's Church, Lafayette avenue, corner of Hall street. This parish was originated by some members of St. Luke's congregation, living in its more immediate vicinity, and was organized-on the 25th of May, 1868, and admitted into union with convention on the 29th of September, 1869. The Rev. Charles W. Hower, previously assistant minister of St. Luke's, wail called to the rectorship on the 29th of May, 1868. A handsome frame chapel was erected, capable of seating about four hundred persons, which has been twice enlarged during the past year. A large and elegant church is in contemplation by this thriving parish, for the accommodation of their increasing numbers. The present number of communicants is two hundred and eighty-two ; of families, one hundred and sixty; of Sunday school pupils four hundred and fifteen ; and the amount contributed during the past year for building and other purposes is $56,700.58.
St. Stephen's Chapel, corner of Patchen avenue and Jefferson street, was formally opened for worship on Sunday, the 21st of February, 1869. The sittings in the chapel are free, and the weekly voluntary offerings of the people are applied to meet the expenses of the church in the place of pew rents. The rector, the Rev. William Schouler, Jr., and the people of the parish, have great reason to feel encouraged by the success that has thus far attended the new enterprise. There are one hundred and twelve communicants, and a Sunday school numbering one hundred and ninety pupils. This church was organized on the 5th of August, 1867. A parish school has lately been established.
All Saints' Church, worshiping in Military Hall, Fifth avenue, near Ninth street, was organized August 4th, 1867; and, until the following Christmas day, carried on by lay effort. At that time the present rector, the Rev. Win. D'Orville Doty, began his labors, and the twenty original families have increased to fifty-two; the twenty-three communicants to eighty; the Sunday school from thirty to one hundred and sixty-three. The amount of money given by the parish for its own support, and outside charities, during the year ending at Christmas, 1868, was $3,270.47, of which they have set aside as a building fund, $1,392-85. Seven lots of land, at the corner of Seventh avenue and Seventh street were purchased, on easy terms, of Isaac Henderson, Esq., who also donated $1,000 on condition that a chapel be erected on the ground at a cost of not lea than $7,000. In accordance 87 with this agreement the work was promptly undertaken, and the cornerstone of the chapel was laid by Bishop Littlejohn, on the 30th of May, 1869. The chapel is a frame structure, thirty-five by thirty feet, with three hundred and sixty-eight sittings, ceiling of open trusswork, and the front surmounted with turret and bell.
Church of the Mediator. A few friends of the Rev. William H. Reid rented the Juvenile Academy in Washington street, near Concord, opposite the Brooklyn Institute, and transformed it into a neat and tasty Episcopal church which was opened for worship on the first Sunday in April, 1869, with a good congregation : the regular attendance is steadily increasing, and nearly half the pews have been let. On April 4th the congregation organized the church, and elected Ellis S. Bloomfield and Charles Selden, churchwardens, and Thomas White, Theodore F. Brett, Aaron Shute, Alfred Wayte, Judson J. Estee, M.D., William T. Anderson, Anthony T. Bissett and Thomas J. Soden, vestrymen. The vestry have Since called the Rev. William H. Reid to be their rector, and he has duly accepted. The church already numbers fifty families and eighty-five communicants, with a Sunday school of one hundred and twenty pupils.
St. Mark's Church, E. D., on Fourth street, corner of South Fifth, is the oldest Episcopal parish in Williamsburgh, the congregation having been formed in the year 1837, by the labors of the Rev. William Morris, afterwards rector of Trinity school, New York. There were at that time only four communicants, and the parish having been duly organized was received into convention during the same year. Mr. Morris officiated until Easter, 1838, when, after eighteen mouths of faithful missionary labor, without stipend, he resigned, in order that the congregation might obtain the services of a resident minister. The Rev. Samuel C. Davis was then called to the rectorship, the number of the communicants being twelve, and during his ministry a brick chapel was erected in the rear of the present church edifice. In the following year he resigned his charge, which was assumed in October, 1839, by the Rev. Samuel M. Haskins, there being at that time about eighteen communicants, and a Sabbath school of thirty scholars, and six teachers. In a discourse on the twenty-first anniversary of his pastorate, preached on the 28th of October, 1860, Mr. Haskins thus alludes to the early history of his parish, and of the churches which have sprung from it: Twenty-one years ago this day there stood, where I now stand, a small, whitewashed brick building, in the midst of a cornfield. In it were gathered the little handful of St. Mark's congregation, comprised of about fourteen families and eighteen communicants. The rapid increase of the village, and the consequent steady growth of the congregation, soon rendered it necessary to provide more ample church accommodations, and in less than three months the erection of a stone church was commenced. So great an undertaking for a congregation so small and feeble, was not undertaken without great exertions, toilsome solicitations, and severe discouragements; and even then it was left heavily embarrassed with debt. In May, 1841, the church was completed and consecrated. It was then thought larger than our need; for though there was no other parish between Astoria and Brooklyn, yet our population was Small and sparse, fields and orchards covered a large portion of our now populous city. Our congregation steadily increased with the increase of the city. In 1846, a new congregation under the name of Christ Church, was organized, and entirely made up of families from St. Mark's. During the same year I commenced missionary services in the eastern part of the town, for the accommodation of my own parishioners there residing, and also with the desire of forming a new parish. Having obtained from Trinity church $200 per annum for the support of these services, and an equal amount by subscription from two families at Maspeth, one of them parishioners of St. Mark's, I called the Rev. Wm. Walsh, and gave in charge to him about twenty families, which at that time were connected with this parish. He officiated both at Williamsburgh and Maspeth every Sunday, until, through the laudable exertions and liberality of a few church families at Maspeth, four of which were connected with St. Mark's, a beautiful church was erected and consecrated. They then called the Rev. Mr. Walsh as their pastor, who accepted, and resigned his charge in Williamsburgh to the Rev. George W. Fash, then rector of St. Mark's parochial school. Mr. Fash soon organized the parish under the title of St. Paul's church, by which name it was incorporated, and received into convention in 1848.
"In the winter of 1846, I also organized St. James's (colored) congregation into a separate parish, and aided them with occasional services, and contributions from St. Mark's until they were able to provide a clergymen for themselves. In 1847, Ascension church, Green-point, was organized, and in the next year Calvary church, in the north part of the town ; and a few years later Grace church, in the eastern portion of the city; and though all these seven churches were so nearly simultaneous in their formation, yet through the generous aid of Trinity church, and by personal application to churchmen in and out of the parish, means were obtained to cancel the heavy embarrassments under which the church had groaned from its infancy, and a sufficient amount loaned to enlarge the church by the addition of a proper chancel and choir, and an increase to the nave of about two hundred sittings. The church was at this time greatly beautified by the addition of memorial windows." A further provision has since been made of suitable rooms for the Sunday school, and a parish school. The Rev. Dr. Haskins gave am the summary of his parochial statistics for the first twenty-one years, nine hundred and eighteen baptisms, of which eighty-two were adults; four hundred and eight confirmations, two hundred and ninety-one marriages, four hundred and eighty-two burials, about seven hundred communicants enrolled, of whom three hundred and twenty-five were still connected with the church. The communion alms were $3,202, the canonical and missionary offerings $3,124, and the weekly offerings and collections for parish purposes $10,862. Since this report, from 1861 to 1867, inclusive, there have been forty-six adult and two hundred and seventy-six infant baptisms, one hundred and seventy-three confirmations, two hundred and thirty-five added to the list of communicants, with a present number of three hundred and fifty-seven; one hundred and forty-two marriages, one hundred and ninety-six burials, and the sum of $17,075.48 contributed to various charitable objects.
Christ Church (E. D.). This parish was originally organized as "Christ Church, Williamsburgh," in the summer of 1846, and services were maintained, for nearly a year, in the Reformed Dutch consistory room, Fourth street. The church was without a pastor until September of the above year, when the Rev. Charles Reynolds received and accepted a unanimous call to the parish, which at that time numbered only thirteen communicants. Within four months from the rector's entrance upon his duties, a small, but neat edifice was erected on the south-east corner of South Sixth and Fifth streets. This proving too small for the congregation in the spring of 1849, and an eligible plot of ground on Bedford avenue, a few rods outside of the Williamsburgh limits, being proffered to the vestry by Messrs. Jacob and B. B. Boerum, the parish of Christ Church, Williamsburgh, was dissolved, and at the same meeting, that of Christ church, North Brooklyn, organized. The corner-stone of a church edifice was laid on Ascension day, 1849, and the edifice opened for divine service on the last sabbath in the following September. A subsequent enlargement was made in the summer of 1851, at which time the number of communicants was ninety, and the sabbath school, under the superintendency of Samuel Reynolds, in a very flourishing condition. Mr. Reynolds's ministry here closed May 6th, 1865, and on the following sabbath, Rev. A. H. Partridge assumed the rectorship. He found the congregation occupying a poor building, and about $6,000 indebt. Through his' exertions the debt was paid, and a commodious chapel erected on the rear of the lot at a cost of about $7,500, with a capacity of seating three hundred and fifty to four hundred persons. The old building was then taken down and sold; and by the lot of January, 1863, a new and elegant church, in the geometrical decorated, gothic style, was erected and occupied by the congregation. This edifice, which is one hundred and twentyfive feet long, by seventy-five feet wide, with two towers in front, will seat one thousand two hundred persons; with stained glass windows, organ, and of elegant internal finish and decoration, it cost $35,000, and is an ornament to the city.
In 1868, this parish purchased a suitable and commodious house for a rectory.
St. Paul's (E. D.). About the close of the year 1846, the Rev. S. M. Haskins, then, and since rector of St. Mark's Church, having obtained assistance from Trinity Church, New York, and other sources, to the extent of $400 per annum, conceived the project of commencing Sunday schools and regular church services, once a sabbath, in the upper part of Grand street, Williamsburgh, and in the neighboring village of Maspeth. From this beginning, both St. Paul's, Williamsburgh, and St Saviour's, Maspeth, date their existence. The Rev. Win. Walsh, for a time, took charge of both stations, but subsequently devoted himself to the church at Maspeth, which was built first. He was succeeded in Williamsburgh, by the late Rev. George W. Fash, who was, at that time, associated with Mr. Haskins in the management of St. Mark's parochial school. On the 8th of May, 1848, on due legal notice, a meeting was held at which St. Paul-'a Parish, Williamsburgh, was duly organized, and Mr. Fash was elected its first pastor. Services at this time, and until May, 1850.' were held in the school room over the drug store in Grand street, one door from the corner of Graham avenue. At the time of the organization, in 1849, two lots of ground were purchased by the parish, on the corner of South Second, Twelfth streets and Union avenue, at an expense of about $1,100, which was then assumed by the rector individually, but was afterwards reimbursed to him by the vestry. In May, 1850, the congregation removed to more commodious quarters in Franklin Hall, corner of Graham avenue and Remsen street, and in June of the same year they contracted for the erection of a house of worship, but the unnecessary massiveness and consequent expense of its foundation walls, together with the death, on the 10th of March, 1851, of its rector, financially embarrassed the church. Compelled to vacate their previous quarters, the congregation met in the basement of the little Lutheran edifice, corner of Graham avenue and Wyckoff street, where their wants were supplied from sabbath to sabbath, by various clergymen. April 30th, 1851, the Rev. Henry Floy Roberts was elected rector, and preached his first sermon, June 1st, 1851. By his exertions, the building project was revived, and the edifice completed at a cost of $1,200. This building, sixty by twenty-six feet, was opened for public worship on Thanksgiving day, November 22, 1851, although it remained during the winter unplastered; and, not until Christmas was it warmed and made comparatively comfortable by a $20 stove, In 1852, on application to Trinity Church, New York, that. corporation assumed the payment of these mortgages, amounting to 2,000, and St. Paul's was free from debt, and by the following August, the building was completed. In July, 1854, Mr. Roberts resigned his charge, and, on the 13th of the same month, the vestry elected the Rev. Edmund Embury, who entered upon the duties of the rectorship, September 1st, but in consequence of ill health, resigned in April, 1856.
He was succeeded, October, 1856, by the present incumbent, Rev. Wm. A. Maybin, then rector of St. John's, Huntington, L. I. Meanwhile the church had been enlarged by the addition of a chancel, and had been newly and tastefully furnished. The parish now received from Mr. Barnet Johnson a gift of five lots, valued at near $5,000, on the corner of Penn and Marcy avenues. The corner-stone of a now edifice was laid September 5, 1860, by the Rev. Dr. Higbee of Trinity Church, New York, and the church was opened for divine service on Advent Sunday, November 23d, 1861. The cost of this church was $24,760. In 1862, Rev. John W. Clark became rector, but resigned the 25th of November, 1863, and was followed by the Rev. David F. Lumsden, from 1863 to 1865; then, for a period by Rev. F. C. Wainwright, then in 1865, by Rev. Ed. R. Atwill, assistant minister at St. Luke's, New York, who resigned August, 1867, to accept a call to the rectorship of St. Paul's church, Burlington, Vt. In 1866, the floating debt was paid off through the liberality of sister churches in New York and Brooklyn; and the free seat system, which had been in force since 1853, was abolished. In November, 1867, the Rev. Wm. A. Maybin (who had formerly been rector), resumed the charge of this parish.
St. James's Church (E. D.), was commenced in 1846, and worshiped first in a small building in South Third street, near Ninth street; later (about 1855), they moved to Fourth street, near South Eighth, at which time the Rev. Samuel V. Berry (colored) was their rector. Afterwards the Rev. Mr. Monroe (colored) became rector, who resigned, however, in May, 1869, and went to Africa. During this year the frame building in Remsen street, latterly used by this congregation, was purchased for them by the convocation, for Church Extension in Kings County. For a time, the services were kept up by the neighboring clergy, and by lay reading.
Calvary (Free) Church (E. D.), at first located on North Fifth street, was commenced by the Rev. Charles Reynolds, rector of Christ church, to meet the spiritual wants of the Second District of Williamsburgh, and was by him organized, January 23, 1849, with five members. Services were, for some time, held in Odd-Fellows Hall, Third street, corner of North Fifth street. The first officers were W. G. Dunn, and E. J. Jackson, wardens; I. I. Townsend, R. S. Pereira, John Seward, Benj. F. Dunn, J. H. Douglass, vestrymen. In 1852, the Rev. Samuel W. Sayers took charge of this parish, and the growth of the congregation was sufficiently rapid and encouraging to commence a church edifice, accommodating four hundred persons, which was completed and consecrated on the 16th of April, 1853. The floating debt of $1,600 was paid in 1855, and the sittings still continued free. The Rev. Henry Floy Roberts succeeded Mr. Sayers in the rectorship, June 1, 1858, and in 1860 the Rev. Francis Peck, the present rector, assumed charge. In 1862, the vestry effected their long cherished purpose of a removal from their previous locality, to a large, convenient, and well situated brick church in South Ninth street, which they had purchased. The parish has steadily increased in numbers and in influence, and has entirely liquidated all indebtedness for their present edifice. During 1866, the vestry erected a substantial rectory at a cost of over $6,000.
Church of the Ascension (Greenpoint). In the fall of 1846, Rev. John W. Brown, of Astoria, Rev. Chas. Reynolds, of Christ Church, North Brooklyn, and Rev. John C. Brown visited Greenpoint for the purpose of making arrangements for the holding of divine service according to the ritual of the Protestant Episcopal church. And, in October of the same year, the first service was celebrated by Rev. John C. Brown, in the parlor of Mr. David Provost's residence. Under Mr. Brown's guidance as a missionary, a room was forthwith hired, supplied with furniture from Astoria and services were regularly commenced. On December 20, of the same year, the parish was organized, and regularly incorporated by the legislature of the state, September 28, 1847. In the summer of 1847, the services at Greenpoint were conducted by Rev. Michael Schofield, who had recently become associated with Rev. J. W. Brown at Astoria, and a flourishing sabbath school was also gathered under Mr. Win. Mulligan, a layman of Astoria. After a few months, Mr. Schofield was succeeded by the 'Rev. Henry Bartow, who resigned in 1848. The Rev. Robert J. Walker, was next appointed to this mission field, in November, 1848, resigning in March, 1850, in order to devote his whole attention to Calvary church, Williamsburgh, where he had already been officiating in addition to his Greenpoint duties. In May, 1850, the Rev. Thomas Clark was called to the rectorship at Greenpoint, which he filled until his death in August, 1852. During his time, the congregation worshiped in the sabbath school room of the Dutch Reformed Church, in Java street, and in the house of Mr. Charles Cartlidge, Franklin street. The Rev. Edward C. Babcock, A. B., deacon, accepted a call from the vestry, dated October 26, 1852, entering on his duties as rector on the 31st of the same month, the services being at that time held at Mr. Cartlidge's house, and the congregation numbering about thirty persons. On the 7th of November, a sabbath school was commenced; and the first communion was administered on Sunday, November 28, 1852, by the Rev. C. Reynolds, to thirteen persons. About this time, also, three lots of ground, eighty-five feet front by one hundred feet deep, on the north side of K Street, midway between Franklin and Union avenues, were secured at a cost of $1,500. On the 30th of January, 1853, the congregation met for the first time in Odd-Fellows Hall, in K street east of Union avenue, where they continued to worship until October following. On the 5th of July, 1853, the corner-stone of a lecture and sabbath school room was laid, by the Rev. C. Reynolds, who delivered an address upon the occasion. Upon the completion of the little edifice it was opened for worship, on Sunday, October 23, 1853, having cost, for land, building and furniture, about $4,500. The pews were at first rented; but, in the early part of 1855, were voted free by the vestry. Mr. Babcock resigned the rectorship September, 29th, 1855, his resignation taking effect, November 1st; and he died in December of the same year. A mural tablet of white marble, erected in the chapel by the parishioners, commemorates their grateful sense of his excellencies and of his unsparing zeal and attention to the spiritual welfare of his flock. On the 28th of November, 1856, the Rev. Merritt H. Wellman, a presbyter in charge of Christ Church, Roxbury, Conn., accepted a call (the second which had been extended to him by this church) from the vestry, dated November 11th, and entered upon his duties as rector, January 1St, 1857; his salary being assumed by the joint action of the vestry, the missionary committee of the diocese, and the New York Pastoral Aid Society. In the fall of 1858, through efforts of the parish and the liberality of outside friends, an excellent organ was procured, the building was ornamented and furnished, and a small balance of debt cancelled. With the close of the year 1860, the church ceased to receive assistance from the Pastoral Aid Society, and that derived from the Missionary Society was also much reduced; the vestry being now able to assume a larger proportion of the debt. The parish continued to make a steady and healthful progress, during the rectorship of Mr. Wellman, who resigned on May 1St, 1863, his last public service here, being on April 26, 1863.
The Rev. Francis Mansfield became the next rector, and began to officiate on the 28th of June, 1863. The congregation having largely increased, a new edifice became necessary' and the corner-stone of a permanent church was laid on the north side of the chapel by the bishop of New York, on the 23d of March, 1865; on which occasion the Rt. Rev. A. C. Coxe, of Western New York, delivered the address. The church was completed at a cost of $20,000, and opened for divine service on the 16th of September, 1866. It is a gothic structure of correct proportions and pleasing effect, with open roof, and organ chamber adjoining the chancel, designed by Mr. Henry Dudley, and is filled with a large and flourishing congregation.
St. John's Church, E. D., was incorporated in 1851, and admitted into union with convention on the 24th of September of the same year. The Rev. Benj. F. Taylor, then a missionary in Williamsburgh, was called to the rectorship. This parish did not succeed in erecting a church edifice, and the congregation, never numerous, becoming scattered, the Rev. Mr. Taylor withdrew in 1854, and further efforts under this organization were abandoned.
Ascension Church, Bushwick, E. D., was organized in 1852, and in December of that year, the Rev. Samuel C. Davis, from the diocese of Maryland, became the rector. In July, 1853, a tornado greatly injured their church edifice, so as to render it unfit for public services. Measures were taken to build a new church, and four lots of ground were given for that purpose, on condition that the sum of $5,000 at least should be raised. The congregation did not succeed in accomplishing this, and the affairs of the parish having become embarrassed, owing to debts contracted before the settlement of the rector, this church property was sold. Discouraged, the Rev. Mr. Davis resigned in April, 1854, but for a time continued services in a private building with a view of keeping together the congregation, and building a new church. In this, however, he was unsuccessful. This parish applied for admission into convention on the 28th of September, 1853, but owing to some informality was never admitted.
Grace Church (E. D.). In compliance with the urgent request of several friends, the Rev. Alvah Guion, in April, 1853, visited the Third ward of Williamsburgh, one and a half miles back from the ferries, having an industrious population of about one thousand eight hundred souls, among whom no Episcopal church had been established. He found a large and interesting population in that portion of the ward north of Grand street, among whom there was no place for public worship, except a small temporary building put up by the Baptists. Although there were, at that time no Episcopalians in that portion of the city sufficiently interested to invite a clergyman, or offer a dollar toward his support, and in spite of the general apathy and discouragement which met him at every step, Mr. Guion determined, in reliance upon divine favor, that a free Episcopal church should be established in this section, and amid this growing population. Accordingly, unknown to, and unsolicited by the people of the Third ward, he established his residence in their midst, and hired two rooms with folding doors on the first floor of No. 243 Lorimer street, where on Sunday, May 15, 1853, he preached a sermon to a congregation of five souls; and on the following sabbath a Sunday school was commenced with one scholar. On the 20th of June Mr. Guion entered upon the work "unsuitable for a clergyman," as he says, "and exceedingly unpleasant, of negotiating for ground, of collecting names, and of making personal application for aid to erect Grace church." After a year's hard labor he had secured a valuable plot of land on Conselyea street, near Lorimer, on which to erect a church, as a free gift from Messrs. Chas. M. Church, John Skillman and Joseph H. Skillman, on the condition that a church worth $5,000 should be erected thereon, within two years. He had also collected a little over a fifth of the above amount. The plans for the church edifice were prepared under the direction of Mr. Guion himself; and he also singly and alone (every member of the vestry, from inability, indifference or want of faith in its Ultimate success, having refused), signed the articles of agreement with the builder, and thus assumed the entire responsibility of the enterprise.
His zeal, faith and labors were finally rewarded with success. On the 20th day of May, 1855, services were first held in the basement of the edifice and on the 8th of January, 1856, the church was fully completed and on the 10th of April, 1856, was formally consecrated by the Rt. Rev. Horatio Potter, D.D., as a free Episcopal Church. In the month of January the last dollar due for the church was paid, and the edifice and ground, fixtures, etc., valued at $13,000 were unencumbered by debt. Grace church is ninety-two feet by forty-four, being calculated to seat five hundred persons, and with all its accessories, fixtures, etc., is a brilliant example of how neat, comfortable and commodious a church may be built, even in a city, for a comparatively small sum.
Mr. Guion continued the rector of this interesting and prosperous parish until the spring of 1868, when he was succeeded by the Rev. William S. Chadwell. The vestry, at the time of the consecration of the edifice, were Messrs. Jonathan James, and James S. Guion, wardens; Dwight Woodbury, Henry S. Samuels, Edward W. Townsend, Richard Sealey, Erasmus D. Brown, David B. Cunningham, Geo. K. Brooks, and William T. Anderson, vestrymen.
The parish is now in a most flourishing condition, both in the attendance upon divine services and sabbath school instruction. During the fifteen years' rectorship of Rev. Mr. Guion, there were connected with this parish, at one time or another, four hundred and thirty families; three hundred and seventy-two children and twenty-four adults were baptized; one hundred and twenty-nine persons were confirmed; one hundred and eighty couples married, and two hundred and forty-eight persons buried. The whole number received as communicants was three hundred and twentythree.
St. Barnabas Chapel, E. D. Services were commenced early in 1869, by the Rev. Henry A. Dows, now in charge of this mission, in a building rented for the purpose on the north-west corner of Evergreen avenue and Jefferson street. Church on Evergreen avenue, between Chestnut and Stockholm streets, opened for divine service, December 12th, 1869.
The counties of Kings, Queens and Suffolk were constituted, on the 18th and 19th of November, 1868, a separate diocese, known as the Diocese of Long Island. On the last named day, the Rev. Abram Newkirk Littlejohn, D.D., rector of the Church of the Holy Trinity, Brooklyn, was duly elected as bishop of the new diocese, and was consecrated to that office on the 27th day of January, 1869.<HREF="#BACK1"BACK
Fish's History of St. Ann's Church, pages 9 and 10. BACK
Recollections of Gen. Jeremiah Johnson. BACK
See page 60, vol. II BACK
See pages 57, 58, vol. ii. BACK
See page 78, vol. ii. BACK
The Rev. SAMUEL NESBITT was most probably a Scotchman by birth, and in early life practiced the profession of medicine in New Haven, Conn. On removing to New York, he became connected with Trinity church, and served as one of the wardens of that corporation. He afterwards studied theology, and was ordained by Bishop Seabury in 1788. The year or two following he passed in South Carolina, but in the journal of the General Convention for 1792 his name is found entered as " residing in New York." His connection with St. Ann's begun about this time, where he served for several years. But little is known of his subsequent history, except that after retiring from St. Ann's church he continued to reside in New York, and was reported in the clergy list of the diocese until 1811, when his health may have prevented him from further service in the ministry, or he may have removed elsewhere. (Mr. Nesbitt's biography was not given in Fish's History of St.Ann's; this sketch Is, therefore, kindly prepared by Rev. T. S. Drowne, D.D.). BACK
St. Ann's, the alma mater of the Episcopal churches of Brooklyn, is fortunate in having a written history, worthy of her name and fame, entitled " St. Ann's church (Brooklyn, N. Y.), from the year 1784 to the year 1845, with a memorial of the Sunday Schools, to which is added an Appendix, containing a brief notice of the other Episcopal churches in Brooklyn. By a Sunday School Teacher, Brooklyn: F. G. Fish, 41 Front St., 1845. pp. 220, 12mo." For biographies of St. Ann's various rectors, we refer our readers to this work. BACK
See pages 108 to 111, vol. ii. BACK
'For biography, see page 83, vol. ii. BACK
For an interesting incident connected with this, see note 1, page 215, vol. ii. BACK
See page 83, vol. ii. BACK
The First &W. The first meeting held for the purpose of establishing this -enterprise, was on the 30th of April, 1828, at the house of Rev. R. M. White, in Hicks street; and the following persons were present, viz.: Rev. C. P. McIlvaine, Messrs. F. T. Peet, J. W. Burtis, W. W. Pratt, Judah Back, R. M. White, J. Greenwood, and Mrs. C. H. Richards, Mrs. R. M. White, Miss Crommelin and Miss Greenwood. No organization, however, was effected until a fourth meeting on the l3th ,of May, at the house of Mr. P. S. Doughty, when F. T. Peet was chosen superintendent- and Geo. A. Bartow, secretary. The first actual session of the school was held by seventeen teachers and ninety scholars, on sabbath, the 18th of May, and from this beginning it gradually increased in numbers and efficiency. On the 11th of January, 1829, the school occupied for the first time, a new and commodious school room, which had been erected on the comer of Washington and Prospect streets, adjoining the church. In 1835, the connection took place between this school and the Protestant Episcopal Sunday School Union
A Dorcas society must also be enumerated among the many institutions which from time to time have graced the history of this church. In 1813, several ladies, among whom the venerable Mrs. Sands was the active spirit, associated under the name of the Loisian society, for the purpose of educating poor children, and fitting them for usefulness. The establishment combined the several objects of the day,. sabbath and infant schools, and a House of Industry. A teacher was provided, and the ladies superintended in turn. After having been continued a long time, the school was finally given tip, during the rectorship of Mr. McIlvaine, it is said, wit exceeding reluctance. See pages 11, 12, 13, vol. ii. BACK
Rev. Evan M. Johnson, was born June 6, 1792, at Newport, R. I., to which place his Quaker ancestors had been driven by the religious intolerance of Massachusetts colony where they first settled. His mother was of a Virginia family. After obtaining a classical education, he passed one year at college, in Rhode Island, and two years at Cambridge, Mass., where he became a candidate for orders, and received ordination at Trinity church, Newport, from the hands of Bishop Griswold, July 8, 1813. Residing, after his ordination, with his mother at Plainfield, Conn.. he was invited to preach for a short time at Norwalk, Conn., and while there accidentally met the Rev. Dr. Bowen, rector of Grace church, Now York, who shortly after invited him to come to that city as his curate. A year of service at Grace church was terminated by a can from the Episcopal church at Newtown, L. I., where he went in 1814, and remained until 1826. In 1814, lie married Maria L., daughter of John B. Johnson, of New York, by whom he had one son, still living. This lady dying in 1825, be soon afterwards married Maria Purdy, of Newtown, L. I., by whom lie had three children. By his first marriage lie became associated with the interests of the large estate of his father-in-law, which was left by will to his children. While at Newtown, he owned and managed a farm, which lie endeavored for a time to sell, with out finding a purchaser. He then resolved that, if lie could sell his farm for $4,000 he would devote that sum to the building of a church. An opportunity of sale won after occurring, he left his church in Newtown, in 1826, much to the regret of his parishioners, and removed to Brooklyn, N. Y., where he erected St. John's church. His personal history thenceforth, to the day of his death, is inseparably interwoven with the spiritual and material interests of the city of Brooklyn. In addition to building St. John's, he undertook the establishment, in 1847, of St. Michael's amid a crowded and neglected population, and 11 it was his peculiar and honorable record, that for services in that church and all other churches, for forty years of his ministry, he never received a cent of remuneration. And this not because he was rich. The property which came to his care, had to be improved by building and other loans, which required large realizations to pay the interest, and nothing but great attention and I good management could have kept it from becoming submerged by taxes and assessments, in the advancing progress of Brooklyn. BACK
In his plans for improving his property, he went extensively into improvements embracing in their scope the map of the whole city. Nothing of Brooklyn was without interest to him; its City Hall, its parks, its ferries, its streets. To his exertions was owing the opening of that great eastern wing of the city, Myrtle avenue. This, though now a closely built thoroughfare, was carried through entirely by the perseverance of our subject. On the petition asking for it was his single name, against four hundred remonstrants, and yet it was achieved, and the lots thereon have been brought into use and quadrupled In value. In effecting this he was aided by Jonathan Trotter, mayor, and Gabriel Furman, alderman of the first ward."
Mr. Johnson's good nature and liberal tendencies caused him to be, extensively sought by parties desirous of being united in matrimony, and at the time of his half century discourse, the number of marriages performed by him had reached as high as two thousand. No man's life was more studded with deeds of actual and daily kindness than the domine's, as he was generally called throughout the city. He would at any time rise at midnight or daylight to marry the humblest couple or do the smallest deed of kindness. During the whole of his life here, none of our clergymen was ever half so much seen among the people as the domine. Almost any day at about ten or eleven o'clock he might be seen turning the corner of Pearl street from the north Into Myrtle avenue; for he lived where his ancient farm house stood, and in walking through Pearl street follows in some degree the ancient cowpath of his farm. His style of drew was plain, simple and old fashioned, a felt hat, always carelessly crumpled ground the rim, surmounted the face of an ancient Roman, crowned with a strong crop of standing hair, as white as snow; and an atmosphere of ease and benignity surrounded him, inviting everybody to stop and have a chat with him. He might have been, and indeed frequently was, taken for one of the ancient crop of Dutchmen, an error which his name assisted in producing ; but, as we have seen, the nearest he came to it was in marrying into a Dutch family.
The church was named by lot, at the time of laying the corner-stone, - which was done," says Mr. Johnson's manuscripts, " without any Previous conference with any of the inhabitants, for fear of exciting the jealousy of the members of the old (Reformed Dutch) church." BACK
In 1853, Rev. Charles Seymour; in 1855, Rev. W. H. Marsh; then James P. F. Clarke, and in August, 1858, the Rev. J. P. Labagh purchased the edifice from Mr. Bartow, and continued rector till August, 1860, being succeeded by Rev. Wm. Wood Seymour. BACK
Edgar John Bartow, born on the 29th of April, 1809, at Fishkill, N. Y., was a son of Augustus Bartow, of Pelham Manor, and his ancestors for several generations, were residents of Westchester, and descendants of General Bertaut, of. Brittany, a French protestant, who fled to England sometime before 1672. The different branches of his family in England and this country were early distinguished for their attachment to the Episcopal Church and their efforts to extend it; and many of the name have been connected with its ministry. On the death of his father, Mr. Bartow's family, in 1816, removed to New York city; and, in 1830, took up their residence in Brooklyn, and were members of St. Ann's parish, Mr. Bartow filling at different times the position of teacher, librarian and secretary of the Sunday school. On the 13th of November, 1838, he was married to Harriet Constable, a daughter of Mr. Hezekiah B. Pierrepont, of Brooklyn, a person of kindred tastes, who shared in a remarkable degree Ills unostentatious and liberal spirit. BACK
Mr. Bartow's business, from youth, was the manufacture of paper, and during his more prosperous days, Mr. Bartow devoted Ills means and influence with Christian fidelity to all the interests of the church, and especially to every local organization or object in which he could be useful. For years after the Holy Trinity was opened, lie liberally aided the congregation of Calvary church in maintaining their services, presenting the use of the building ; and no one in this community contributed more towards relieving the necessities of the poor. In secular matters lie was also identified with every movement that concerned the progress and improvement of Brooklyn. He took a warm interest in the laying out of streets, in the erection of houses and public buildings, and was instrumental in establishing the Montague Street ferry, having built, at an outlay of over $45, 000, the stone archways and inclined plane from the Heights to the river. In politics, although not an active participator, he was in his sympathies a democrat, and in 1846 was chosen by that party as its candidate for mayor; but lie declined the honor although lie would beyond a doubt have been elected. Thoroughly retired and domestic in his tastes and habits, fond of the congenial society of a few, whom he knew intimately and loved, lie shrank as far as possible from public notice and commendation. His wife died in 1855, ), and on the 4th of October, 1800, Mr. Bartow married Caroline, daughter of Col. John M. Gamble, U.S.M., of Morristown, N. J. He continued to reside in Brooklyn (although his business avocations called him frequently to Norwich, Conn., to superintend the operations of the Chelsea Manufacturing Company, of which he was president), until his death on the 6th of September, 1864. (Condensed from a biographical sketch in Rev. Dr. Drowne's Commemorative Discourse, on Completion of Spire, etc., of Trinity Church, 1867.
It may be proper, also, to add that the same work contains a graceful biographical sketch of Minard Lefever, the architect, not only of Trinity church, but of many other sacred and secular edifices in this city.
For biographical sketch of Dr. Lewis, see Dr. Drowne's Commemorative Discourse, page 70. BACK
Abram N. Littlejohn the present (and first), bishop of the diocese of Long Island, was born in Montgomery county, N. Y., on the 13th day of December, 1824; graduated at Union College 1845, and was admitted to the deaconate on the 18th of March, 1848, at Auburn. BACK
After officiating at St. Ann's church, Amsterdam, N. Y., one year, and at St. Andrew's church, Meriden, Conn., for a period of ten months, he entered, April 10, 1850, upon the rectorship of Christ church, Springfield, Mass., and while connected with this parish, on the 10th of November, 1850, was ordained to the priesthood. In July, 1851, be succeeded the Rev. Dr. Samuel E. Cooke in the rectorship of St. Paul's church, New Haven, at which he continued until the spring of 1860, when he accepted a call to the church of the Holy Trinity, Brooklyn, entering upon his duties at Easter.
Dr. Littlejohn delivered the first of a course of lectures, given by various bishops and clergymen, on the Evidence's of Christianity, in Philadelphia, in the fall and winter of 185". The theme assigned him, and which he discussed with masterly .ability, was The Philosophy of Religion.
In 1856, he received the degree of Doctor of Divinity from the University of Pennsylvania. In January, 1858, he was unanimously invited by the board of trustees to accept the presidency of Hobart College, Geneva, N. Y. During a period of ten years, he performed the duties of Lecturer on Pastoral Theology at the Berkeley Divinity School, Middletown, Conn. As a member of the Domestic Committee of the Board of Missions, he has been prominently connected with the missionary work of the church in this country. He is also a trustee of St. Stephen's College, and of the General Theological Seminary, Now York; a member of the Executive Committee of the Protestant Episcopal Freedman's Commission Society, a director of the Society for the Increase of the Ministry, and a member of the Executive Committee of the Sunday school Union and Church Book Society. For several successive years he has been elected to the office of president of the Homes for the Aged and Orphan on the Church Charity Foundation, Brooklyn, and to that of vice president of the King's County Convocation for Church Extension, the bishop of the diocese being ex-officio president. For a considerable period, Dr. Littlejohn was a contributor to the American Quarterly Church Review, and he has also published numerous occasional discourses.
The clergy connected with the church as assistant ministers during the first rectorship, were the Rev. T. Stafford Drowns from the 16th of November, 1848, to tile 7th of May, 1858, the Rev. Henry T. Gregory for a short time, followed by the Rev. Cornelius B. Smith, who continued to the 1st of February, 1860. When Dr. Littlejohn assumed the rectorate, the Rev. N. W. Taylor Root became assistant for a few months, and was succeeded by the Rev. John C. Middleton from the 21st of October, 1860, to Easter, 1863. On the last Sunday of the following October, the Rev. John H. Rogers entered upon the office, after whose withdrawal in 1865, temporary services were rendered by the Rev. J. D. Philip, and by the Rev. Charles H. Van Dyne in 1866. Early in 1867, the Rev. Benjamin B. Newton was appointed assistant Minister. BACK